A Fresh Dille

west-bound.

Posted in FITNESS, FOOD, WORK by clairedille on October 21, 2010

As mentioned in the last few posts, I have had to make a big life decision rather quickly and here it is: I am moving to Los Angeles. There is no real rush because I am not yet signed on my next project, (hello freelance life) so I have decided to drive west. V had to leave abruptly for a series, but we’ve been talking about possibly moving to LA for the winter, since the Detroit film industry definitely dies down in the winter months. Last year we were out west for just a month or so, but this year we will probably stay longer. Who knows, maybe we will stay out there since our lease runs out right after the new year. He is a California boy and I am most definitely a New Yorker, but I do love the state of California after spending my middle school years there. Another perk is that I will be able to run outdoors all through the winter. Yes, that is a real reason I am excited. The hiking, biking, year-long farmer’s markets…it is all so appealing. LA is also home to many of my favorite vegetarian and veggie friendly restaurants. I can’t wait for some delicious M Cafe and visiting more restaurants that I have yet to eat at. Although I miss all my friends and family in New York dearly, there are a few of my college friends in LA, and my brother, who I haven’t lived close to in 10 years.

I’ve never driven that far solo, and am lucky enough to have persuaded my mother to travel halfway with me. In preparation, I have spent the last few days at the parents, organizing plans and routes. This morning, I was happy to find some irish steel-cut oats in their pantry and many honeycrisp apples in the fridge. On the stove top, I mixed in some organic light coconut milk (another parent’s pantry find), half a banana, chia seeds, and ground flaxseed (I came with the chia but they already had flax).  When I couldn’t find any vanilla, I searched the spice rack and sure enough, found vanilla beans. I scraped half a bean into the oats while still cooking and heated up half an apple sprinkled with cinnamon on another burner. I’ve mentioned before, but I love cooking at my parents because they have an amazing old AGA stove.

They also have my favorite latte bowls (I have the little ones for prepping) in every color imaginable. My mother and I both have an affinity for kitchen goods, and she made sure to show me her recent finds and gifts (thanks to my lovely Aunt for picking up an olive tree cutting board while in Italy).


Since I’m currently working on emptying out my fridge, I brought over leftover roasted veggies. The parents always have veggie burgers in the freezer in case I come for a visit, which I used to round out a lunch.

While the car was getting a check up for the road trip ahead, I stopped in the local gourmet market for a snack. This Pure NRG bar is made just a few miles from my parents home. Usually I am not a fan of carob, and opt for pure dark chocolate, but this bar really surprised me. Maybe it was the coconut flour and flakes, but I didn’t find the carob overwhelming at all and actually enjoyed it.

When dinner rolled around, I centered it around the dumpling squash I also had picked up while out. Oh, and there were GT’s Kombucha too! That needs to be mentioned since there have been months of an unplanned Kombucha famine.

Isn’t she beautiful? She is local and organic too.

The other component I wanted to use was the lacinato (or  dinasour) kale my father picked up at the farmer’s market on Sunday from my favorite organic farmer.

The kale was sautéed with this stoneground Inglehoffer mustard and I loved it. Wanting to eat with my parents, I threw together this local and tasty dinner for one in a hurry. I roasted the squash in the highest oven of the AGA to cut down the cooking time and used Michigan’s eden baked beans (organic and bpa free) to fill the squash.

Other things going on in my kitchen:

The two pie pumpkins on my counter needed to be roasted before I leave. I sliced and deseeded them, and then baked them for about an hour at 350 degrees. All I wanted was some simple pumpkin puree for morning oats.

I see some pumpkin oats taking over my morning meals these last four days I am in the midwest.

Other things:

Considering I had taken off most of the summer from running, I started slow and with low mileage. Unfortunately it might not have been little enough, because instead of aggravating my consistent left shin or foot problems, I have a new-to-me pain. Although I’ve heard the words “IT Band Syndrome” before, this is a first for me. The pain has appeared on the outer side of my right knee on each run. Even just running 3-4 days a week, totaling 10-15 miles, I feel pain. Honestly, I’ve been doing most of my runs on a treadmill because Detroit isn’t necessarily the safest city to run alone in. I’m hoping that running outdoors on dirt and grass will help it heal.

Other strategies to let it heal:

– Cross training to keep building my endurance

IT Band stretching

Walking breaks during runs

Ice Massage

If you have any advice, I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks for all the brownie advice on my last post. I am thinking I might have to wait a little before baking some fudgy brownies, but I can’t wait.

How do you keep your attitude positive when sidelined by an injury early into training? There were a few half and full marathons I’ve really been intrigued by and I don’t want to write them off yet. At the same time, it is pretty discouraging to be caught off guard by this new injury so early in my training. Of course I am not a doctor, and am not sure that it is ITBS, but the pain does nag in that general area. I even feel pain going down the stairs.

What is your favorite road trip food? Do you pack sandwiches, fruit, bars, etc? Do you stop places? So far, I am stopping in Des Moines, IA, Denver, CO (to see a best friend and get my mom on a flight home), and Richfield or St. George, UT (anyone know which is better?).

Have a grand week!

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Danielle said, on October 21, 2010 at 12:24 am

    I kind of really love you because you’re awesome.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your plans! Or lack thereof. That’s what makes life exciting, right? 🙂

  2. Lauren @ WWoB said, on October 21, 2010 at 2:12 am

    You are moving near me!! I live in Davis, CA which is about 7 hours north of LA. I was in Santa Barbara for two years, but couldn’t stand the university. You are going to have a fabulous time in LA! So so many good restaurants and boutiques! The only bummer is the insane inane traffic. Blech.

  3. lynn @ the actors diet said, on October 21, 2010 at 2:13 am

    yay! excited for you (and for me) – we’ll hit up mcafe together!

  4. balancejoyanddelicias said, on October 21, 2010 at 5:22 am

    sorry to know that you got a new pain… I recently started running and did a half marathon in 2 months, it was a little too fast so I got some muscle soreness afterward on the hip. I’m taking a hiatus right now and it’s healing. So I’d say…. take your time and maybe seeing a sport doctor to identify the exact problem is a good idea to not freak out an do proper recovery.
    road trip food? I’d pack sandwiches, fruits, wraps and nuts. 🙂 Good luck with the trip!

  5. Anna said, on October 21, 2010 at 8:16 am

    How exciting!! I’m going to be so jealous of your west-coast weather, come winter. Can’t wait to read more about this adventure!

  6. healthyexposures said, on October 21, 2010 at 8:50 am

    So exciting!! I can’t wait to see what this new journey brings you 🙂
    Love the squash with baked beans, too – that is a favorite of mine.
    I love packing sandwiches/bars/dried fruit & nuts for road trips…never know what you’re going to find on the road, and when I’m hungry I’m HUNGRY! haha

  7. Evan Thomas said, on October 21, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I think it’s great that you’re following your gut. I’ve thought recently about moving to CA after college, too. It just seems to be where the jobs are.

  8. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on October 21, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Yay! So excited for you to move to a new adventure and get out of sketchy Detroit! 🙂

    I’m so sorry to hear about your ITB stuggles. I’ve had issues with it for YEARS and I’ve discovering that foam rolling and The Stick (both on sale right now through the Fitnessista’s & Carrots N Cake’s OpenSky shops) help a lot. I also think yoga works wonders for IT band issues, especially the pigeon pose.

    SO excited to see you in a few weeks!!!!!

  9. edenseats said, on October 21, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Im so excited for you. I live in LA! I have to show you all the underground foodie joints!
    Where are you living in LA? would you like help finding a place in a good area? email me if you need hookups.

    Some areas in LA are gorgeous to run in, others, not so much, the city if huge though. Most areas are safe though.

  10. lisasfoods said, on October 21, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Sounds like just the right plan for you and V right now, and it’s exciting to start fresh. I know you’ve been hoping to move away from Detroit sooner rather than later.

    I love packing road trip food – sandwiches, granola bars and trail mix, fruit, and some cookies. Sometimes I’ll go out to eat while on the road, but only if there’s a place that’s really calling my name.

  11. Vegan Piggy said, on October 21, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I would love a change of scenery. Congrats to you for being able to do so! I live in the midwest, so the farmer’s market season is about to end sadly. Enjoy all the yummy restaurants and markets for me 🙂

  12. Ameena said, on October 21, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    I can’t wait to meet you Claire…I will be joining you and Lynn at M Cafe. 🙂

  13. switching the route « A Fresh Dille said, on October 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    […] vinaigrette. Honestly, I couldn’t make it through the veggie burger and ate the remaining dumpling squash half and baked beans for today’s […]

  14. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on October 22, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    I’m just getting caught up on your posts! Congrats on the move. It sounds very exciting! 🙂 I hope you have a safe trip out to LA. I’m very jealous of the fact that you’ll have wonderful running weather while the us East Coasters will soon be facing cold and snow.

    I’m sorry to hear about your IT band issues. That’s really frustrating. Hopefully with a little rest and icing you’ll be back on the roads in no-time!! Just keep your head up and think about the rest as part of your training. You’ll get to those races one of these days 🙂

  15. Katie said, on October 24, 2010 at 12:45 am

    UGH, sorry about your ITBS 😦 I’ve had it SO MANY TIMES, and each time it shocks and surprises and angers me. Foam rolling, strength training, and icing are all excellent ideas… and so is knowing when to stop. Feel better!

  16. premarital marriage counseling said, on August 8, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

