A Fresh Dille

first stops on the road.

Posted in TRAVEL by clairedille on November 2, 2010

I made it to Los Angeles Friday night and I am still thinking about all of the amazing places we visited on the road from Michigan. I can’t wait to share it with you this week in a few posts. Although we only had time for dinner and driving around each city, I felt like I found some areas I would love to go back for a longer length of time.

Before leaving Detroit, I had made hummus and veggie wraps, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and packed lots of snacks (apples, bananas, dried fruit, almonds, walnuts, larabars, purebars) for the road. On our first night, we made it just past St. Louis, Missouri. Due to out planned dinner the following night at 105 Degrees in Oklahoma City, we opted for an easy dinner of Whole Foods sushi and salads.

We drove just past the city of St. Louis, but we made sure to drive around the area a little while after grabbing dinner. The houses outside of the city were so charming and reminded me of Boston suburbs. After driving through Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, and then entering Missouri, we were beat. The following day, we drove through Missouri and made a stop in Tulsa, Oklahoma to explore vintage stores and a take a coffee break. A vintage store employee recommended Shades of Brown and my mom and I both loved its funky artsy vibe.

Any place with kombucha and almond milk is good with me. Unfortunately, I had asked my mom to grab me an iced green tea while I ran to the restroom and read the signs above after. It is never a good idea to drink too many beverages when on a road trip. There is always next time.

We sipped our tea and espresso while sitting outside admiring the fall leaves. I was sad to leave the fall of the midwest and east coast but at least I got to enjoy September and October.

Jumping back into the car, we were excited to only have a short trip to Oklahoma City for dinner.

Tomorrow I will share with you our delicious meal at 105 degrees.

Other news:

Unfortunately, I am not going to be able to attend the Foodbuzz Festival as planned this upcoming weekend. Sometimes life gets in the way and after traveling for a week, I have some things to attend to in LA.

There were so many bloggers I was excited to meet and I really hope that I will have another opportunity in the future. I hope everyone else has a wonderful experience in San Francisco! I really wish I could be there with all of you who are going.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Danielle said, on November 2, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    I love Shades of Brown! The friend that I visited in OKC is originally from Tulsa and took me there the last time I visited. I also love being completely familiar with the amazing places you visited. ‘Tis fun.

    Btw, now that I know that we do get along as well as I’d hoped, I really miss hanging out with you. Will I see you in November or will I have to take a trip to the City of Angels? The latter would be fine by me ;).

  2. actorsdiet said, on November 2, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    sorry you won’t make it to san fran – i’ll see you in LA, though!

  3. elise said, on November 3, 2010 at 3:08 am

    so i just read on the email chain you wont be in SF for the festival…just popped over to say hi and see where you moved to in LA. I just moved here too (from NYC), but i have lived in so cal before. we need to plan a meet up with southern ca bloggers!

  4. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on November 3, 2010 at 8:32 am

    gorgeous pictures as always!

    I can’t wait to hear what you think about 105 Degrees in OKC. My in-laws live just outside OKC and I’ve never heard of/seen/done anything there remotely fun or delicious. 🙂

  5. lisasfoods said, on November 3, 2010 at 11:06 am

    I love to hear about fun, local coffee shops. I recently made a mission to only visit local coffee shops and cafes until the end of the year. No more Starbucks for me (not that I go there very much), so if I friend suggests coffee out, I am on a search for the little local places. They’re always better. And have more character.

  6. Pure2raw twins said, on November 3, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Coffee shops looks like a very cool place! Yay for kombucha 😉

    So sorry to hear that you are not coming to Foodbuzz 😦 maybe next year right 😉

  7. wholesale soccer shoes cheap said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Apuleius is a sword-swallower on the PontNeuf, the nephew of Rameau and Curculio the parasite make a pair, Ergasilus could get himself presented to Cambaceres by d’Aigrefeuille, the four cheap usa soccer cleats dandies of Rome: Alcesimarchus, Phoedromus, Diabolus, and Argyrippus, descend from Courtille in Labatut’s posting-chaise, Aulus Gellius would halt no longer in front of Congrio than would Charles youth soccer shoes us Nodier in front of Punchinello, Marto is not a tigress, but Pardalisca was not a dragon, Pantolabus the wag jeers in the Cafe Anglais at Nomentanus the fast liver, Hermogenus is a tenor in the Champs-Elysees, and round him, Thracius discounted nike soccer cleats the beggar, clad like Bobeche, takes up a collection. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

