A Fresh Dille

late to vegan mofo + santa fe body.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, RAW, TRAVEL, VEGAN by clairedille on November 4, 2010

I’ve read about Vegan Mofo for a few years now, and I think it is finally time to participate. When first reading about it, I wasn’t quite 100% vegan, but over the last two years, I’ve been eating entirely plant-based foods. It’s about time, right? A Vegan Month of Food sounds right up my alley, and hopefully will give me more blogging stamina for the month of November. This month I will be writing about vegan food, as per usual, and following the Vegan Mofo idea of writing at least twenty veg-related posts over the month.

Another great thing about writing about vegan food, is that LA has quite the abundance that I can’t wait to discover. Although, I am starting late, at least I am aiming to give it a shot. Maybe I can even get a spot on the 2010 blogroll

Since I am now on Pacific Standard Time, lets count this as my first post on November 3rd.

Let’s talk about Santa Fe. I pretty much fell in love.

It was so cold the morning I wanted to take photos that I froze my fingers while leaning outside the passenger door of the car. You see, road-tripping means getting to places at night and often leaving in a hurry the next day. My mother had plans to meet up with a best friend from college at 8 a.m. (a healer of sorts who has cooked at a vegetarian restaurant and taught yoga classes), but obliged me by driving around for a few minutes before returning to the restaurant I had fallen in love with the night before.

After our quick drive around , we were back at Body.

Let’s rewind to the night before.

Once again, I went to Happy Cow in search of healthy veggie filled meal to remember. My mother’s iPad helped on the road, and I found myself loving the Body of Santa Fe site. There was a studio, spa, cafe, boutique, and more. It seemed like a place both myself and my mother would enjoy.

The boutique charmed with sustainable products, organic materials, and amazing style. There was a local jewelers work with stones that we both loved (for a hefty price).

Of course there were many raw/ health foods sold in the cafe.

Most importantly, the food was everything I hoped for (and more).

Due to the surprisingly chilly temps, I promptly ordered a chai tea with homemade nut milk before dinner.

It warmed me up fast and the spice was perfect. It reminded me that I need to start making homemade nut milk’s again.

My collard green burrito was another delectable choice. It was filled with cashews, flax seeds, basil, salsa fresca, sun-dried tomatoes, sea salt, garlic, tamari, olive oil, and apple cider vinegar, and came with a small salad. I should have asked for avocado as well, because I am sure it would have brought it to another level.

The star of the evening was this beauty.

My mom ordered the Asian Curry with brown rice, stir-fry vegetables, tofu, coconut curry sauce, and nori. Although I thought the dish might turn out to be bland, it WAS NOT. The coconut curry sauce was the best I’ve ever had. Honestly, I’ve never had a better stir fry. The dish was so warming and included cauliflower, cabbage, zucchini, carrots, broccoli, and more. I would go back to Santa Fe just to taste this one more time.

Dessert also made its way into my stomach.

To follow along with the previous nights raw theme, I went with the raw pumpkin pie. I told the waiter that I am a chocaholic and really wanted the raw/vegan brownie sundae, but he assured me I should venture elsewhere. This was creamy and full of pumpkin and pumpkin spice flavor with a raw date crust. I did miss my chocolate fix though.

Fast forward to the next morning, we headed back to Body for breakfast in the cafe separated from the dining room we had eaten the night before.

My mom (left), her best friend, and I sat talking about her time in Santa Fe, cooking in the Body kitchen when it first opened, teaching Yoga in the Adirondacks, and her healing abilities. I’ve never talked to a healer before, and it was so refreshing to hear stories of how she can tell when things are wrong with an individual and the paths of healing.

Instead of my usual warm breakfast bowl of oats, I tried the Body Ambrosia which was raw sprouted buckwheat, dried fruit, bananas, fresh seasonal fruit, coconut, agave, and fresh nut milk. Again I was amazed by the nut milk. It was creamy perfection. This breakfast turned me into a raw buckwheat convert. I just need to get my hands on some this week. Amazingly, it also kept me full as long as a typical morning bowl of steel-cut oatmeal.

And for the road, a raw chocolate covered almond butter cup that I ate as we entered Arizona.

Yeah, it had to happen. I am happy it did. Bliss.

Other things:

-Have you been to Santa Fe? Did you have a good experience?

-Do you tend to go for chocolate desserts at restaurants? Or other types?

-Ever met a healer? Today I saw a sign down the street from our place in Topanga for Reiki. Now, I am intrigued…

Now it is November 4th, day 4 of vegan mofo. I’m trying.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on November 4, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I LOVE Santa Fe!! Such a cool city…that restaurant looks awesome!

    • Gio said, on November 24, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      How sad that a place like BODY serves lamb and Vegetarians and Vegans do not stand up against it.
      It is part of a Yoga Studio, it advertises to conscious and vegetarian people who believe in the yoga lifestyle and yet it happily serves Lamburgers?
      The energy of the food (on top of the juices of the baby sheep are mixed in with the “vegetarian food”
      Namaste’
      Gio

  2. kalliemarie said, on November 4, 2010 at 11:02 am

    I live in Albuquerque so I go to Santa Fe fairly often. If you go back in the future you should check out Canyon Road, it is AMAZING and there is the best tea place there. 🙂 I will have to look up that place, I hadn’t ever heard of it!

    -k
    http://kalliemarie.wordpress.com/

  3. Elinor of Pride & Vegudice said, on November 4, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I had some raw pumpkin pie recently too! At Mooi, in LA. So you could go there!
    I would kill for chai right now too! Great photos 🙂

  4. lisasfoods said, on November 4, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I love Santa Fe! Last December Steve and I went to Arizona and New Mexico for a week, and spent a few nights in SF. I absolutely loved the vibe, the cool cafes and galleries, and the architecture. I feel like I could easily live in a city like that.

  5. […] meal is from a cool little café Steve and I stumbled upon in Santa Fe last year. They served a lot of local food, and it had a great, cozy, artsy atmosphere. I love […]

  6. Deb said, on November 6, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Yes! I live in Santa Fe and the collard greens burrito is what I eat when a vegan munch at the Body cafe. I brought my mom who is gluten allergic and their gluten menu is great as well. Living in Santa Fe is so much easier being vegn when you have places like Body to choose from. Wonderful article and pics. thanks for sharing.

  7. […] leaving Santa Fe, we were off to finally see the Grand Canyon. Considering it was going to be both me and my […]

  8. michelle victoria said, on November 8, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Great story…I now live in Santa Fe, originally from LA and am there monthly, and yes it is a magical place. Beware…after my first visit I fell in love with it and have returned a few times and now have been living here for two years (with a lot of traveling).
    The food at Body is amazing-so great to see this commitment to real food. I once had an organic coffee house in Sedona and not too many people in that time appreciated what it meant to eat clean food.
    Lucky you LA has so many great choices. Have you tried Seed in Venice? Here is a story that I wrote about them http://smartlifeways.com/delicious-food-that-heals/
    Hope that you make it in and that you return to Santa Fe. Mu Du Noodles is also wonderful for your next trip.
    I will keep checking your web site too.

  9. real food. « A Fresh Dille said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    […] the delicious bowl of buckwheat I had at Body in Santa Fe, I was determined to find some. Remembering that I had seen the kaia brand before on Whole Foods […]

  10. Gio said, on November 24, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    How sad that a place like BODY serves lamb and Vegetarians and Vegans do not stand up against it.
    It is part of a Yoga Studio, it advertises to conscious and vegetarian people who believe in the yoga lifestyle and yet it happily serves Lamburgers?
    The energy of the food (on top of the juices of the baby sheep) are mixed in with the “vegetarian food”
    Namaste’

  11. Heather said, on November 24, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Praising Body as a Vegan or Vegetarian restaurant??? Why not McDonalds? Did you happen to miss the LAMB on the menu?
    Baby sheep are not VEEEEEGAN.

    As a veggie, myself, I used to eat there everyday…. until the owner decided to slip “lamb-burgers” on her “happy body” menu.
    Makes me sick…. also because they are cooked in the same place as all the other food!

    Love, peace, and Light to ALL BEINGS.
    Namaste


Leave a Reply

