A Fresh Dille

vegan goodness in flagstaff

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, TRAVEL, VEGAN by clairedille on November 7, 2010

After leaving Santa Fe, we were off to finally see the Grand Canyon. Considering it was going to be both me and my mom’s first time, we drove straight through Flagstaff, saving it for the next morning. I was tempted to stop in the cute town that reminded me of Colorado with mountains in the background.

The drive from Flagstaff to the Grand Canyon was full of beauty.

Our lunches (courtesy of Body) were eaten en route. Although they were just as delicious as the other meals we ate there, I was too focused on the nature to snap a photo. I had simple spelt wrap filled with steamed kale, sweet potato, and ginger sauce. It was definitely a dish I will be recreating.

Soon after our arrival at the Grand Canyon, we were off to walk along the canyon on the designated trails. The view is one I will never forget. My fear of heights went to the wayside while I walked two miles with my mother, who was seemingly more fearful of the deep canyon.

The shadows were stunning.

Oh, the curves of these trees.

After the sun set, we headed to El Tovar for dinner. We had made reservations from the road after hearing it was the finest dining in the area. Unfortunately, we both were left disappointed with our priciest meal. The only vegan dish was a stuffed portobello that was filled with a veggie concoction (when I asked the server what it was, he said blended veggies…not so appetizing). I ended up eating half of one of the two portobellos and dipping two pieces of bread into the tomato sauce that covered the plate. I had stowed my camera away, but believe me, it was not a pretty dish. The highlight of the meal was the company and the conversation about our travels.

It was much chillier than I had expected. Look at my lovely blue-tinted lips…

We slept long and hard that night. In the morning, my mother awoke in a hurry to watch the sunrise. I don’t think I was fully awake when she attempted to get me to come along, but I wanted to stayed in bed. Looking back, I am sure it was amazing, but I must have needed sleep for the full day of driving ahead.

Soon after she came back, raving about the sight, we were off to Flagstaff for breakfast. Due to the one and a half hour drive, I ate on a banana to keep my stomach from growling.

Rachael had recommended Macy’s for vegan scones in Flagstaff. I ended up reading the happy cow reviews and was sold on the idea after such a disappointing meal at the Canyon. The place was filled to the brim with locals, which is always a good sign in my book. It was a Friday morning, but everyone was dressed casual in beanies and cold weather clothing. I felt like it was a weekend morning.

Sadly, the person before me had taken the last vegan scone of the day. It was a cinnamon coconut scone that was much at least the size of my hand. I am sure it was heaven.

But this vegan lemon blueberry bran muffin…was another winner. It was soft (and yes, moist) like all muffins should be with a slight lemon flavor that didn’t overpower the blueberries. I wish I had ordered a few of the other baked goods to go though, such as a vegan sticky bun or blueberry crumble bar. They all looked splendid.

My mom, never a big breakfast person, went with couscous that was topped with almonds, raisins, and apricots. The coffee was the best of the trip.

For the road, we ordered a Vegan BLT with avocado and tempeh bacon. It was easily the best sandwich I’ve had in a long time. The vegan basil mayo and thick hearty slices of bread made the sandwich. We were both full from one half (and the blue corn chips on the side). Macy’s Coffeeshop, Bakery, and Vegetarian Restaurant was another highlight of the road trip. If you are ever driving through Flagstaff, or going up to Grand Canyon, try to stop by. It is worth stopping by.

Tagged with: , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. healthyexposures said, on November 7, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I am in awe of these pictures. So much beauty you are surrounded with! And yes, I agree – love the curves and shadows of that tree. I think I’d have had a field day with that one!
    Macy’s sounds amazing, too. Bummer that the dinner beforehand wasn’t what it was hyped up to be, though. I think we always have those – but you said it…the company is what was great about it, right? 🙂

  2. lisasfoods said, on November 7, 2010 at 9:44 am

    That’s the trouble with some tourist destinations – the places that are supposed to be excellent are rated by typical tourist standards. I think a lot of us would rather find an unusual place that’s doing things differently – like vegan, organic, or local. When we went to the Grand Canyon last year, we brought a lot of our own food and just ate in the cafeteria the other times, avoiding sit down meals.

    Love these photos – the lighting is excellent.

  3. lynn @ the actor's diet said, on November 7, 2010 at 11:14 am

    my hubby proposed to me 8 years ago at the grand canyon! and we stayed in flagstaff and went to a veggie place – i wonder if that’s the same one?!

  4. Amanda said, on November 7, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    OMG, So beautiful scenery!
    White stag clothing

  5. Lauren said, on November 7, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Beautiful food and amazing photos! It sounds like a wonderful trip. I’ve never been to the Grand Canyon — it’s a place that I definitely would like to visit one day. It’s awesome that you’ve gotten to try so many great restaurants along the way, though I’m sorry the priciest meal was the worst. Definitely disappointing. At least you had great company and a lot of other delicious meals to make up for it!

  6. Katie said, on November 8, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I’ve only been out West a few times, but I’m always overwhelmed by the natural beauty! I’m kind of craving that scenery right now… I need a break from all these tall gray buildings.

    I love those photos of you and your mom! Frame-worthy.

  7. Lauren @ WWoB said, on November 8, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Cous cous for breakfast? Thats awesome!
    I am so glad you are having a nice trip with your mama. I miss mine, I havent seen her since July 😦

  8. Kelsey said, on November 9, 2010 at 10:45 am

    i love how that tree trunk twists and bends like that. The Grand Canyon would be so beautiful to see up close- very powerful!
    hehe the sign is so CUTE with the guy soaking in a cup of coffee ❤ ❤

  9. soccer shoes adidas said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    Here comes the bobby, here comes the p’lice, pick up your duds and be off, through the sewer with you!”Sometimes this gnat–that is what best usa soccer shoes he calls himself–knows how to read; sometimes he knows how to write; he always knows how to daub. He does not hesitate to acquire, by no one knows what mysterious mutual instruction, all the talents wholesale soccer shoes cheap which can be of use to the public; from 1815 to 1830, he imitated the cry of the turkey; from 1830 to 1848, he scrawled pears on the walls. One summer evening, when Louis Philippe was returning soccer cleats sale home on foot, he saw a little fellow, no higher than his knee. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

