A Fresh Dille

yogi eats

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN, WORKOUTS by clairedille on November 10, 2010

You know you are staying at a bachelor pad when…

The only spices/seasonings in the cabinets are salt and pepper.

The only pan for baking is a pizza pan.

The kitchen drawers are filled with wires/cords, pens, paper, and take-out menus.

The only thing in the freezer is a frozen pizza.

There are no kitchen towels or oven mitts.

The spoons are the size of serving spoons.

There are no measuring cups or spoons, but plenty of bottle openers and shot glasses.

All the cookbooks have a note from who it was given from on the first page.

There is no olive oil, vinegar, or other stapes, but there is vodka.

With the lack of what I would call kitchen essentials, I am sticking to quite simple meals these days. There are a few things I’ve picked up, but because we are aren’t in our own place yet, I am waiting for our real move to stock up. Around the holidays, it seems like we will finally be able to pack up all of our apartment goods, to ship west.

Of course there were three things I picked up for my morning steel-cut oats: himalayan pink sea salt, organic vanilla, and organic cinnamon.

The fourth addition…organic canned pumpkin (just one can, I swear).

I don’t know how I remembered to drive west with my chia seeds, ground flax seeds, and the Newman’s Own Organic Berry Blend dried fruit, but not the cinnamon and vanilla.

These strawberry oats were my first attempt without the two, and that morning, I decided that I just couldn’t last these two months without them.

Oh, I have been without my favorite raw almond butter, keeping to peanut butter on my morning bowl. It just isn’t the same. I will probably cave soon.

Ironically, I bought a bunch of these art deco iced tea spoons in Amarillo, TX during the road trip. I love how long iced tea spoons are, they remind me of sundae’s. I don’t think I ever actually used an iced tea-spoon for tea, but they are the perfect spoon size. It is funny to see which spoons V and I choose for soup dinners. I always reach for the smallest so that I can’t savor the flavors longer, and he opts for the largest so that he can get the most in at once.

I don’t know what it is about the California air, but I’ve been all about the hiking and yoga. I admit, part of the reason I started hiking was because it was the only place I could get cell service in Topanga, but the other is the peaceful feeling I have above the city. I can see the ocean and the skyscrapers in opposite directions. The first few hikes left me pretty sore considering they were seriously steep inclines, but I’ve been sure to do at least 20 minutes of yoga a day to stretch out my legs. Rodney Yee’s Ultimate Power Yoga is a great workout. I’ve worked my way up to doing four of the five twenty-minute segments at once. My friend who is out-of-town (and letting us stay here) has the Yoga Burn, which I have yet to try, but am excited for. Although I am missing running dearly, I can tell my knee is not yet healed. Our location in Topanga Canyon makes it almost impossible for me to attempt a run. The first few 4 miles would be all hills and therefore painful, so I am almost grateful that we are this deep in Topanga. The plan is to drive to the water and park along the beach when I feel ready to run again. I can’t wait to run along the coast, it is one of my favorite places to run, with a nice cool breeze and the sound of crashing waves.

For now, I am eating my California Veggie Sandwiches on my Yoga Mat. Okay, not really, but I loved the green on green action. This was a sprouted wheat bagel filled with tofutti cream cheese (without the partially hydrogenated oil), cucumber, avocado, sprouts, and cherry tomatoes.

Yesterday’s was even better with my favorite vegenaise instead of the “cream cheese” and tempeh bacon, a California style BLTA of sorts.

I’ve gone out for Indian and Chipotle (with wardrobe friends and bosses) but haven’t been inspired yet to travel with my camera, especially when meeting a director I may potentially work with. All in all, things are pretty good over here, minus the fact that I missed the Foodbuzz festival over the weekend for work prospects. Sometimes we all need a little reality reminder.

How upsetting is this early darkness caused by Day Light’s Saving…it really is a buzz kill for food photography in the evening. But I wanted to show you an example of the simple dinners I’ve been eating. I used to love eating Macro bowls at Souen when living in NY, and this is a re-creation of sorts. I don’t eat macrobiotic meals that often, but when I do, I feel wonderful after eating them. LA seems to have many macro restaurants as well. Most of them are vegetarian friendly restaurants on my growingΒ LA restaurant list.

-Have you ever tried Macrobiotics? At a restaurant? Cooking yourself? How did it make you feel?

-What is your favorite veggie sandwich combo?

-Do you have any recipes with minimal spices? I am thinking of buying a few for the next month but have such a hard time choosing. So far I am leaning towards curry powder and cayenne. I also love roasting veggies with rosemary and thyme.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sarahnotsoplainandtall said, on November 10, 2010 at 2:35 am

    I miss Souen too!!!! MMMM I am dreaming of their carrot sauce right now poured all over my planet platter!!
    Your rice looks like its as yummy as Souens…whats the secret!?
    πŸ™‚

    xx
    @healthymodel

  2. Natalie @ cinnamonbums said, on November 10, 2010 at 4:15 am

    oh my goodness. you are making me miss california like crraaaazzzyyy. i love how you are making do with such simple foods + ingredients. my favorite veg sandwich is: roasted red bell peppers, avocado, alfalfa sprouts, cucumbers, with a drizzle of red wine vinegar and olive oil. so delicious.

    though i do not attach myself to the “macrobiotic” label, i find that that style of eating does suit my body wonderfully (though im in italy… so there is no “macrobiotic” eating here) – i think that follows naturally seeing as how souen was and is my favorite restaurant in all of nyc! i think especially during the winter, the cooked foods and just the balance of a macrobiotic plate makes me feel sooo nourished and so whole, i love it and miss it so much. in a month and a half when i am back in california i will definitely be making some macro plates!!! yum.

    love reading your posts. so pretty, so soothing. hope you are having fun!

  3. Eliza said, on November 10, 2010 at 5:20 am

    everything looks so delicious and beautiful…you are making me super hungry ;P
    I love sprouted bagels with cream cheese and veggies, i think that may be may favorite lunch/sandwich ever! πŸ™‚ + avocado + veggie sandwich (of grated carrot, sprouts, tomato and onion) that is also a fav.

    My mom actually used to be macrobiotic in her 20’s and she always carried that way of cooking with her even now, although i cook for myself i guess her influence made me love macrobiotic food and recipes, since we have a couple really lovely macrobiotic cook books, that i look through once in a while, well anyway! i love Angelica Kitchen in NY, def. my favorite!!

    as for minimal spices, i usually find myself using tumeric and cumin a lot in cooking, tumeric not only being really good for you, but it has such a great flavor and cumin i love as well!

    xx
    eliza

  4. healthyexposures said, on November 10, 2010 at 6:37 am

    Looks like you are doing wonderful with not having much to work with. Everyhitng looks delicious, just like always! I never really attached the macro label to meals like your dinner, but I do love having separate grain, protein, and veg when I don’t have time. I like mixig and matching and getting to choose what I want a bit of next, rather than just having everything all mixed together πŸ˜›
    I think my most-used spice other than garlic (because that is easily replaced by real garlic, of course!) is dried basil. Well, I guess I used that more in the summer…lately I’ve been using more curry powder or cumin when making savory dishes.

  5. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on November 10, 2010 at 7:43 am

    The first part of this is really funny! It’s interesting what some people consider essentials, haha

    I’m sorry that your knee is still hurting, but I think it’s wonderful that you’re able to hike so much. Hiking and yoga sounds amazing — you’re definitely in an awesome place for both. πŸ™‚ And despite being simple, your meals look delicious!! I think you’re doing a great job with just a few simple ingredients. My favorite sandwich combo of late is very similar to yours. I’ve been loving tempeh BLTs…sometimes with a little avocado. So good! πŸ™‚

    And I agree — I hate daylight savings (besides that one extra hour we got last weekend, which was awesome). I’d rather suck it up and wake up in the dark than have it get dark around 4pm. It’s depressing.

  6. lisasfoods said, on November 10, 2010 at 10:16 am

    We have some friends who are macrobiotic, and I love eating meals at their home. Lots of delicious noodle dishes, soups, seaweeds, and fruit-sweetened desserts. The Kushi Institute, a major U.S. macrobiotic center, is in western MA, not far from us. While I’ve never been there, I’d love to take a course some day, or to just spend time there to see what goes on and to learn more about this interesting philosophy.

  7. Tal said, on November 10, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Hi, I was just wondering what kind of camera you use, I have been looking into getting a DSLR and your pictures are amazing!

  8. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on November 10, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    eek, good luck with that kitchen! πŸ˜‰

    I missed you at the foodbuzz festival! I really wish you could have come, but admire your dedication and sense of responsibility! πŸ™‚

  9. Pure2raw twins said, on November 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    Yes had a macrobiotic dish at Cafe Gratitude in SF. It was delicious!! Wish you were there at Foodbuzz. Favorite veggie combo is avocado with just about anything πŸ˜‰ ~Michelle

  10. YadaYadaLady@theFlavorandTimes said, on November 11, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Your comment about hiking made me laugh. πŸ™‚ But I believe you. My fave veggie sandwich at the moment: Grilled diced eggplant, hummus, and avocado on sourdough. Delicious!

  11. Ameena said, on November 11, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Welcome to L.A. Claire! Would love to get together soon.

    I’m in Westwood…not sure where you are but if you are close to Lynn you are pretty close to me. πŸ™‚

  12. […] get my fix somehow. We both went with the BLT with tempeh bacon and avocado. Yes, I’ve been eating these at home. Yes, I am still loving […]

  13. Lauren @ WWoB said, on November 12, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Gah, all your eats lately look divine and precisely like something I would eat. I have eaten macro many times at Casa De Luz in Austin, TX. It is so delicious! I have never had a bad meal there. There have been a few that didnt rock my world, but always satisfying. I feel light and content after eating macro, never stuffed or gross or food preggerz. I would never make it at home though… there are so many rules and things! I wouldnt even know where to begin.
    My fave veggie combo…. hummus, purple onion, tomatoes, cucumbers, sprouts, a few carrot shreds, avocado, SALT

  14. real food. « A Fresh Dille said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    […] with coconut milk, banana, raspberries, and almond butter that Lynn gave me (how did she know I was without my favorite nut […]

  15. Sree said, on January 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Hi

    Could you please tell me the name of the grass / sprout like thing that is used along with the veggies in the bagel ?

  16. soccer shoes adidas said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Here comes the bobby, here comes the p’lice, pick up your duds and be off, through the sewer with you!”Sometimes this gnat–that is what best usa soccer shoes he calls himself–knows how to read; sometimes he knows how to write; he always knows how to daub. He does not hesitate to acquire, by no one knows what mysterious mutual instruction, all the talents wholesale soccer shoes cheap which can be of use to the public; from 1815 to 1830, he imitated the cry of the turkey; from 1830 to 1848, he scrawled pears on the walls. One summer evening, when Louis Philippe was returning soccer cleats sale home on foot, he saw a little fellow, no higher than his knee. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

