A Fresh Dille

twice the pumpkin, twice the fun

Posted in FOOD, SHOPPING, VEGAN by clairedille on November 11, 2010

Pumpkin is one way I’ve been reminding myself it is fall since being in LA.

Yesterday, I couldn’t resist a little dark chocolate, since I was still without my nut butter of choice, almond butter. The chocolate did top a little peanut butter though. I needed my nuts in some way or another.

I also drank some delicious Fair Trade coffee out of the Peerless Coffee mug V got me while visiting his family in the San Francisco. That was about as close to San Francisco I got for the Foodbuzz Festival. I may have needed some cheering up and energy. Afterwards I realized I have been coffee-less since the road trip. I guess I just don’t need it when not working or driving cross-country. Still, my body isn’t full adjusted to Pacific Time yet and I have a hard time waking up past 6. Of course V’s early call times might have something to do with it. We tend to fall asleep just after 10 o’clock most week nights…

I yoga’d a little before getting to business or as close to as it I’ve come these last few weeks. Waiting for things to happen is certainly nerve-wrecking , but I had the perfect afternoon lunch planned to distract myself a little…

with the lovely Lynn of The Actor’s Diet. For lunch, she picked out Sante La Brea, a cute and rustic place with a relaxing vibe and lots of vegan fare. The menu really catered anyone, and this is something I am already really appreciating about LA restaurants.

Although breakfast served all day was appealing (I’ll be sure to return for the organic vegan cornmeal pancakes with blueberries and banana), we both craved a sandwich. Whenever a sandwich is served panini style, I am all for it. I’ve been wanting a panini press for much too long so I had to get my fix somehow. We both went with the BLT with tempeh bacon and avocado. Yes, I’ve been eating these at home. Yes, I am still loving them.

Don’t get me wrong, this was good, just not the best BLTA I’ve ever had.

me, courtesy of Lynn and her wrap-up post.

The half sandwich, half salad combo was ideal though, because I really am a sucker for vegan desserts.

I’m not your typical cake lover, but when I saw the Jack-o-lantern cake on the menu (and waiter recommended), I was down. Pumpkin twice in one day is a little too heavenly to pass up. Pumpkin frosting, enough said. When the cake came, Lynn split it down the middle and we shared this beauty. The cake wasn’t exactly fluffy and I read the menu again realizing olive oil was the fat of choice in the cake part. The best layers were the two dark gingerbread-types spiced with allspice and nutmeg. It really hit the spot.

It was such a wonderful lunch with a new foodie LA friend. I also came home with a goodie bag I will share later! Check out her post for more photos of Sante La Brea. Oh, and a few words about vegan food satiety; I was full for so long, that I had to force myself to eat the veggie sushi I picked up from Whole Foods for dinner. It must have been the cake…

After parting ways, I ventured over to the LA outpost of one of my favorite NYC stores, Opening Ceremony. It was dangerous really. I fell in love with the Sunday’s Best rings, and many shoes and bags I can’t quite afford. I torture myself so. I will be doing some more today with a best friend who moved out here 6 months before I.  Therefore, I must go and fuel myself for some LA adventures. Hopefully I can convince her to go to one of the restaurants/cafes on my LA vegan-friendly restaurant list. I promise I will share a more complete one soon.

Other things:

-Are you a cake person? Do you prefer fluffy cakes or heartier desserts?

-Do you let yourself window-shop? Do you find it much too torturous? Who am I kidding, I definitely try things on sometimes too…

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on November 11, 2010 at 11:56 am

    So nice to move to a new place and have friends at the ready!

  2. Sarah@Sarah notsoplainandtall said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    LA has some great vegan spots! You HAVE to have the spicy kale at M Cafe and be sure to try Cru for some ammmmazing raw food! Also, erwhon grocery store always has fresh coconut water and lots of times the fresh young coconuts are on sale (oh how I miss them after a long hike at Runyon!!!)
    I know what you mean about it not truly feeling like fall! I am from the northeast but spending some time in Miami, and I’ve been loading up on squash to pretend like it’s almost the holiday season :).

  3. lily said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    that pumpkin oatmeal bowl with chocolate looks so delicious
    love little sister

  4. Pure2raw twins said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Love all the pics!!! Everything looks delicious. Lynn is great, I am so glad I got to meet her at Foodbuzz 🙂 I am a sucker for vegan desserts too! YUM
    ~Michelle

  5. Evan Thomas said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    That cake looks beyond heavenly.

  6. Jenny said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Fluffy cakes, definitely. That way I can fit more in my tummy 😉

  7. bkb said, on November 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    just discovered your blog and i love it! seems we have a ton in common — including out blog template, haha

    http://www.keepfashion.wordpress.com

  8. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on November 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    oh my gosh, you are SO cute! Love the hat.

    I used to not like cake very much, but once in a while I find one that blows me out of the water.

  9. Lauren @ WWoB said, on November 11, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Not that it matters… but.. you are so beautiful!
    Im not really a cake fan but on the rare occasion that a cake is truly phenomenal, I will be up to chow dowwnnn. Dense versus fluffy really depends on the cake. Dense carrot cake, fluffy angel food cake, you know.
    That pumpkin cake looks like one of those phenomenal occasions. I would have definitely ordered it.

  10. Emma said, on November 11, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    i am majority missing some pumpkin action in my life!

  11. healthyexposures said, on November 11, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    You’re so pretty! I love your style, too 🙂 the pumpkin oatmeal, cake and BLTA sandwich all look delicious. I am not a huge fan of cake, unless it’s a good hearty carrot cake 🙂

  12. lynn @ the actor's diet said, on November 11, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    that meal kept me full forever too!!! looking forward to more vegan adventures….

  13. real food. « A Fresh Dille said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    […] in a spinach wrap. I had a bite and much preferred her lunch. After having a vegan BLT the day before, I went a different way, but hers was pretty tasty with the spicy dressing. It would have been even […]

  14. soccer shoes adidas said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Here comes the bobby, here comes the p’lice, pick up your duds and be off, through the sewer with you!”Sometimes this gnat–that is what best usa soccer shoes he calls himself–knows how to read; sometimes he knows how to write; he always knows how to daub. He does not hesitate to acquire, by no one knows what mysterious mutual instruction, all the talents wholesale soccer shoes cheap which can be of use to the public; from 1815 to 1830, he imitated the cry of the turkey; from 1830 to 1848, he scrawled pears on the walls. One summer evening, when Louis Philippe was returning soccer cleats sale home on foot, he saw a little fellow, no higher than his knee. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC

  15. dory said, on September 6, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    OMG ! That food just looks amazing those pictures are to die for. Looks like you guys had an absolute feast of a day, thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

