A Fresh Dille

post thanksgiving sushi.

Posted in FOOD by clairedille on November 28, 2010

I promise that I am alive and well. Since moving out to LA, I’ve had to search for a new apartment, while starting a new tv project. These last few weeks have been more busy than planned and I really haven’t spent much time in the kitchen. Honestly, most of my meals are the Whole Foods variety (food bar, sushi, vegan chocolate chip cookies).

When Thanksgiving approached, I knew I’d be spending my first thanksgiving without family. This was a first for me, but I had a lovely time with an old best friend and many of her new ones. The menu was sent around via email, and I knew that none of the sides would be vegan, so I made two things that I felt would satisfy me and hopefully a few others. The spread was your usual Thanksgiving fare: turkey, gravy, green bean casserole (we’ve never had this in my family thanksgiving), mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, stuffing, and salads. I brought a kamut berry pilaf with butternut squash and cauliflower, balsamic roasted brussels sprouts, and vegan pumpkin pie. Still staying at our friends until the first of December, meant that I had limited cooking supplies and no serving dishes. Unfortunately, there were no food photos documented, but it was a pretty good night with new friends.

not my arm, but a new friend’s…and my best friend erin.

Of course, I did really miss my family and their typical 20+ person Thanksgiving day. My family always invites great friends for Thanksgivings at my aunts farm in NY and we keep our Christmas a little smaller. I am counting down the days…

In the meantime, I will be working and then heading back to Detroit to pick up the rest of our belongings. We will be living in an empty apartment for two weeks before. We aren’t too worried about the lack of things, considering V and I will both be working long days with meals fed to us. I will be sure to get some eco “paper plates and cutlery” though for the few meals we eat at our new home.

The day after Thanksgiving in West Hollywood, I headed over to the  M Cafe on Melrose. For some reason, I wasn’t in the mood for anything but sushi. It was really different from typical veggie sushi rolls. My favorite was the soy marinated shiitake mushroom roll. The others were quite unique as well, filled with lotus root, shiso, umeboshi, and more.

One thing I realized after the fact, was that the sushi was pre-made (probably hours before) and was sitting in the glass case. This may be fine for the side salads (an especially delicious looking kale and peanut salad), but the sushi had become a little hard by the time it was served to me. I enjoyed the flavors, but want to try something new next time I venture to M Cafe.

I hope everyone had a lovely Thanksgiving with family and friends! I promise to try to be more exciting come holiday time with some veggie filled meals. Some of my favorite NY restaurants will definitely be visited at the end of December and I can’t wait.

Other things:

-Do you always have family Thanksgivings? Have you ever done an alternative type Thanksgiving?

-What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish? This year I went without the peas cooked with spinach and onions that someone always makes at my family Thanksgivings. I also missed the veggie friendly stuffing, since the only option was from the turkey. Next year I will be sure to make those dishes happen in my life.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jenny said, on November 28, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I’m a mashed potato girl. Simple but so yummy. Glad you had a good Thanksgiving!

  2. Rose said, on November 28, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    hm, i’m glad you had a good thanksgiving even w/o your family! vegan pumpkin pie sounds pretty awesome. What restaurants are you planning to hit up while you’re in ny?

  3. soccer shoes adidas said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Here comes the bobby, here comes the p’lice, pick up your duds and be off, through the sewer with you!”Sometimes this gnat–that is what best usa soccer shoes he calls himself–knows how to read; sometimes he knows how to write; he always knows how to daub. He does not hesitate to acquire, by no one knows what mysterious mutual instruction, all the talents wholesale soccer shoes cheap which can be of use to the public; from 1815 to 1830, he imitated the cry of the turkey; from 1830 to 1848, he scrawled pears on the walls. One summer evening, when Louis Philippe was returning soccer cleats sale home on foot, he saw a little fellow, no higher than his knee. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

