A Fresh Dille

a belated earth week post.

Posted in BEAUTY, FOOD, Uncategorized by clairedille on April 26, 2010

Yesterday I made my way to Michigan’s Earth Day Fest. It was a cold and rainy day but I knew that I would regret not going if I chose to forgo it. There were certain areas that were out of my league, as I am not a homeowner yet, but it was a very enjoyable experience. My favorite area definitely involved food and I was given a free tofu salad wrap from Whole Foods and purchased a vegan chocolate mousse that I saved for dessert. Katie, from Naturally Nutty, the local nut butter company that has made its way all over the blog world, was there and I knew that it was finally time to buy some. The two vegan varieties I taste tested and bought were the Vanilla Almond Butter and Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter.

Don’t you worry, I made sure to top my oats with a little of each nut butter this morning.

Other booths of interest were Greening Detroit, VegMichigan (will be posting about VegFest soon),  Detroit Green MapAvalon Bread (so many vegan treats), Boh Bon Soap,  Maple Creek Farm (they provide food for my fave veggie restaurant in MI- Inn Season), and a Wellness Center that may help my body during Marathon training this summer.

Another local treat that was so tasty that I had to purchase some were the Live Smart Flax Bars. I chose an original and chocolate variety and the list of ingredients can be found here.

Growing up, I always thought of myself as a true New Yorker (east coaster?) because I spent the majority of my life there, but I think that it is time that I learn to appreciate the area where I spent my high school years and have now returned for work. I know that I will not be living here for the rest of my life, but supporting my current community is important no matter where I am.

Some other things:

Have  you heard about the Film Series that Whole Foods Let’s Retake Our Plates program has organized?

What all natural beauty/toiletry products do you use regularly and suggest? I will be posting about some of my favorite new finds later today but would love to hear about yours.