A Fresh Dille

pancakes for one. oats for two.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN, WORK by clairedille on February 20, 2011

Ever since starting a commercial at the beginning of last week, I’ve been craving bowls of warm steel-cut oats. Waking up at 5 a.m. just doesn’t give me adequate time to prepare a quality bowl. Instead I’ve been eating packed overnight oats made with rolled oats, almond or coconut milk, chia seeds, banana, vanilla, cinnamon, and all the berries I can find in my fridge. After the initial craziness that takes place as soon as I arrive on set, I take a few minutes to eat my cold breakfast while the steamer heats up to prep the wardrobe for the day. Eating breakfast before 7 a.m. always makes me hungry  for lunch very early, as it should. I grab fruit, nuts, and all the bars in my snack drawer for days like these. By the time lunch rolls around (1-2 p.m.), I feel like I’ve eaten quite a lot for the day already. Of course that doesn’t stop me from making the caterer’s scratch their heads when I ask for anything vegan from the three entrée options of fish, poultry, and red meat. Usually this means I receive a plate full of the rice (or other grain) and whatever  side veggies they can find prepared without butter. I’m difficult, but that is their job. Commercials, with a much smaller crew, have less choice, but the quality is usually better than when they are feeding an entire film crew. This week I had a delicious meal of brown rice and beans topped with grilled asparagus, and a spinach, beet, and walnut salad on the side. It was one of the best catered meals I have had to date. There are also the days where I am off doing errands (returning wardrobe, picking up alterations, etc.) where I miss lunch entirely. These are the days I actually prefer, because I get to go off and find my own lunch from places I enjoy in LA. The best meals I’ve had while working were Native Foods and M Cafe. These are easily two of my favorite veggie places in Los Angeles. I can’t get enough.

As soon as the weekend hit, I knew oats would be on the menu. I still wanted to make pancakes for V since he prefers them over oats, but my sister chimed in that she also craved a bowl of oats after being without them all week. For the pancakes, I used my go-to recipe from Angela, the spelt pancakes. V has a pretty hearty appetite on the weekend mornings, so I doubled the recipe. He ate every last bite.

They were filled with bananas and walnuts and he poured delicious maple syrup on top.

Lily and I ate comforting steel-cut banana oats with almond milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, and vanilla in my new small Anthropologie Lotus bowls.

We poured California organic berries on top and I sliced up some raw walnuts from the farmer’s market for satiety. I really shouldn’t go that long between warm oats consumption, it was a little bit of torture.

For the long weekend I am going to relax and enjoy the California sunshine by hitting up the flea market and reading in a nearby park today. There may be some vegan baking involved too.

Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend.

– Do you ever feel deprived of warm oats, even when the weather isn’t chilly?

-What is your favorite long weekend activity?

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on February 20, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Delicious creations!

    I have to have oatmeal daily – it’s so warming and nourishing!

    Dance is my favorite long weekend activity – and baking too.

  2. katshealthcorner said, on February 20, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Yes, I have to have my oats in the morning! 🙂

    Your pancakes look SO good! 🙂

  3. healthyexposures said, on February 21, 2011 at 3:18 am

    I think absence makes the heart grow fonder 😉 Good to hear the catering crew is able to accommodate you well enough, though – especially after working hard all morning!
    V’s pancakes you made look phenomenal! I will have to try that recipe myself 🙂
    Enjoy your long weekend! Unfortunately, I don’t get one 😦

  4. Pure2raw Twins said, on February 21, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Pancakes – YUM
    And I love those bowls! So cute!!!
    Favorite long activity would be hot yoga 🙂

  5. megan @ the oatmeal diaries said, on February 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    This food is just gorgeous. Every time I see pancake pictures I die a little inside because I don’t have a stovetop here!! =P

  6. actorsdiet said, on February 22, 2011 at 8:40 am

    it’s pancake week! make some of those for yourself (or for me!)

  7. Des said, on February 24, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Incorporating the bananas and walnuts is an excellent idea.

  8. anni said, on March 25, 2011 at 5:11 am

    Wow! those bowls of porridge (oatmeal) are my idea of heaven!!! It is really hard to find steal-cut oats in England for some reason! Are they very different to rolled oats? 🙂

  9. soccer shoes adidas said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Here comes the bobby, here comes the p’lice, pick up your duds and be off, through the sewer with you!”Sometimes this gnat–that is what best usa soccer shoes he calls himself–knows how to read; sometimes he knows how to write; he always knows how to daub. He does not hesitate to acquire, by no one knows what mysterious mutual instruction, all the talents wholesale soccer shoes cheap which can be of use to the public; from 1815 to 1830, he imitated the cry of the turkey; from 1830 to 1848, he scrawled pears on the walls. One summer evening, when Louis Philippe was returning soccer cleats sale home on foot, he saw a little fellow, no higher than his knee. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a comment