A Fresh Dille

splitting it.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 20, 2010

Today has been one of those rough days where all you want to do is eat freshly baked chocolate chip cookies with a warm comforting beverage or a cold glass of milk. I woke up with many items on my to-do list nagging me while I prepared oats for three. I knew that I messed up the measurements of the rolled oats and Scottish oatmeal mixture, but didn’t attempt to rectify it. Instead, I added more water, hoping to plump up the oats while they cooked. We were low on almond milk (not anymore) and left with frozen bananas and berries. Instead of adding chia seeds or flax while cooking, I simply stirred in some flaxseed afterwards. This was quite the pitiful attempt to make some good oats that I’ve been craving the last few days, but the two others sharing the batch seemed content with their somewhat small bowls full of oats with black raspberries, dried cherries, and vanilla almond butter. Maybe tomorrow I can do better.

I won’t divulge too much information regarding my crazy work life, but let me tell you, I hope that all this time of stress leads to a point in my life where I will have more freedom in my career. I feel confident in my capabilities, but there are a lot of obstacles that the industry creates. In order for me to progress, it gets kind of tricky. Things will probably change in a big way in the next few months. Those who have taught me the in’s and out’s of costuming seem to want to help me break down the walls that are around me right now, and that makes me feel great. At the same time, this is a waiting period that doesn’t sit too well within me. I always am one who strives when given tasks and when another has confidence in me. When I don’t feel that I am doing anything significant, I can feel bad for myself. Blogging is a great way to relieve some stress, but sometimes you just need a big chocolate chip cookie. This one was split with my younger sister. Isn’t it great having a friend or family member to split a GIANT treat with?

Oops…we ate before I could snap a shot. Eating this cookie with warm cups of tea (yes, it was 70 degrees out) was the perfect treat for me to enjoy sitting with my sister after a phone call filled morning of work. No, it wasn’t gluten free or healthy in any way.

For lunch, my sister and I made delicious wraps filled with a Sunshine Falafel Pattie, hummus, avocado, and romaine that we scrounged up before grocery shopping. I was surprised that she kept commenting about how tasty they were. Previously, I found them to be a little too dry for my liking. I guess there is nothing a good amount of hummus and avocado can’t help.

I remembered this evening that I had challenged myself to cook from my own cookbooks this month, instead of searching online for meal ideas. After browsing Veganomicon, I found the famous Chickpea Cutlets that I’ve seen numerous places around the blog world with rave reviews (recipe here). Every ingredient was already in our pantry so I set about making these with some newly found enthusiasm for the day.

For the side dishes, I sautéed a whole bunch of kale with tamari and rice vinegar, and baked sweet potato fries.

Instead of the mustard sauce in the book, I mixed some vegenaise and organic ketchup to make a russian dressing that I knew my mother would approve of. She has always loved russian dressing, especially with roast beef. Ironically, she hates ketchup. We all were fans of the chickpea cutlets. I felt they weren’t too meaty for me, which is usually the case with seitan and many other “meat alternatives.” I still have some Gardein products in my freezer that I am a little freaked to try…can someone convince me?

For dessert, I ate a slice of spelt toast spread with a chocolate hazelnut spread, similar to Nutella. I found it on Elana’s Pantry and although it was pretty yummy, it was no nutella.

Tomorrow, I am going to run. I have been craving it all night and I know a nice long run will be just what I need to release a little pent-up stress.

Other things:

-Are you going to the Healthy Living Summit? I finished dinner and looked at the clock at 8:58, and at that moment I decided to just buy a ticket spur of the moment since I knew tickets went on sale at 9 pm. I am unsure what August will be like for me schedule-wise but healthy living discussions and meeting so many like-minded individuals is incredibly exciting. I just couldn’t pass it up!

-Notice the extreme white in my photos that seems to be glowing? Know of any way to fix this? I am borrowing one of my father’s digital camera’s and have it on the food setting. I have also used the close up setting and both seem to have this effect. I have to work with this camera until I am ready to purchase a nicer one that I feel confident learning to use and would love to improve the quality of images.

-Are you a nutella fan? I grew up eating nutella and spent a summer when 16 in Italy eating it daily. When I was in the Netherlands for a semester in college, it was my only source of fat and protein when the rest of the students were eating ham and cheese paninis. I didn’t seem to mind, nutella was all I wanted.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ashley said, on May 20, 2010 at 1:40 am

    I don’t really like Nutella…hazelnuts are not my thing! One of the only nuts I don’t like! I got a ticket to HLS so hopefully we’ll get to finally meet! Weird about the camera…not sure!?

  2. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 20, 2010 at 1:46 am

    peanut butter and jam oats is delicious isnt it!! and i love hazelnut butter so i know i would be a huge fan of chocolate hazelnut.. well obv. i mean who doesnt like nutella right!! hehe

  3. Natalie @ cinnamonbums said, on May 20, 2010 at 2:17 am

    for your photo problem, it will help if you turn down your exposure (going down from 0 to -1 should help)… and i LOVE nutella… i can eat it with anything. or by the spoonfuls. my mother used to frost her homemade cakes with nutella… so delicious.

  4. healthyexposures said, on May 20, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Sorry to hear about your packed, stressed schedule – but hard work always pays off. I’m glad you’ve got good company to help you through – and I bet HLS will be a blast!!
    The chickpea cutlets look fab – I’ve actually been eyeing that recipe for a while now. I still have some chickpeas, so maybe tonight?
    As for the camera, I’d agree that oyu need a faster shutter speed, but I’m not so sure you have that capability with the camera you have. Maybe try taking it off the food mode, and shooting it in auto using macro? Unless you can use it manually…then, by all means, go manual 🙂
    And i’ve never had nutella! I’m afraid it would be too chocolatey for me…

  5. Lindsay said, on May 20, 2010 at 8:48 am

    There are certainly days where fresh baked cookies are a must! 🙂 I think they’re good for the soul.

  6. dmcgirl37 said, on May 20, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I love nutella! I just discovered it a few years ago and have some awesome breakfasts..
    I wish I could go to that summit but I’m way to far away :p

    Dana ❤
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  7. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on May 20, 2010 at 9:29 am

    All of this food looks beautimous! Especially those oats! My sister is a diehard nutella fan. I like it but I prefer other things like almond butter, dark chocolate dreams, etc!

  8. Amanda @ . seek . said, on May 20, 2010 at 9:35 am

    I’m convinced that cookies and a warm drink are the solution to all life’s problems. That, or a good bowl of oatmeal. I really hope things settle down for you in your job soon, and that everything works out the way you want it to.

    I would absolutely love to go to that summit, but I live too far away 😦 I hope you have a great time, though!

    I’ve never actually tried Nutella because of an allergy to peanuts… and I’ve been too lazy to make my own chocolate hazelnut spread. Maybe one day 😉

  9. Katie said, on May 20, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    I’ve pretty much been wanting to eat chocolate chip cookies all day every day for the past week!

    Hope your work week is letting up a little…

  10. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 20, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I’m so jealous of everyone attending the summit!! I’d love to go, but my schedule is too unclear for me to commit 😦

    Nutella…when I was a kid I made sandwiches on potato bread with Nutella, peanut butter and chocolate chips. Heaven. I hear Justin’s came out with a chocolate hazelnut butter that’s vegan though!

    Try seeing if there’s an “auto white balance” setting on your camera. That’s what I use when the light makes white too blinding!

  11. the365dayhealthchallenge said, on May 20, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Wow everything looks amazing! (I LOVE The Chicago Diner! My sister introduced me to it and I’ve been in love ever since)

  12. Mandiee said, on May 20, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Although your oats didn’t turn out exactly as you planned, they look absolutely delicious to me. I like to add my flax seed on top, but that’s just me. I’d totally recommend it though :). Actually, all of your eats sound wonderful today! I really want to try the Sunshine burgers. I’ve heard so many rave reviews for them! As for the chickpea cutlets, I adore that recipe. It’s committed to my memory and so versatile for whatever beans or spices I’m craving. However, I do have to agree with you on the meatiness. I usually add way more water than it says to combat this. Regardless, some of Gardein’s products have this also. Never fear, not all do. I personally enjoy the chick’n tenders, but they’re only an occasional treat. They’re definitely worth a try.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  13. Steve said, on May 27, 2010 at 3:16 am

    Re the Camera – you are getting what we call a false reading with your camera because of the white plate and the lighting you are using (not unusual – it’s like shooting from shadow to sunshine) and unless you understand photography and how to take light readings etc, food photography is incredibly difficult to right. It is worth investing in a good camera AND a SOLID tripod. Check my site for some images – I’m about to launch a food mag online and would be interested in exchanging some ideas, as you are clearly passionate about food. If you are interested, please email me.

    Steve

  14. The Fit Collegiate said, on June 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Just stumbled across your blog. Beautiful eats! Oh, everything looks so good! I’ll definitely be stopping by more often. Have a lovely day xoxo Anna


Leave a comment