A Fresh Dille

i hope it is not too late…

Posted in Uncategorized by clairedille on October 7, 2008

The extreme shame I had been developing due to my lack of blogging resulted in a fear of returning to A Fresh Dille. It still amazes me that some food bloggers can post about everything they eat in a day. Kath from Katheats and Jenna from Eat, Live, Run are just two who fall into that category with extreme schedules of their own each day and a limited amount of time to blog, however they do, and quite well. I knew from the start that I was not going to be blogging to that extent and not even necessarily focusing on food each post. Still, I read blogs pretty regularly, even if it is a quick blackberry read on the walk to class from a 7am cross country practice. I try to make it happen.

Making promises to post is not the way to go for me. I have realized this recently and therefore will probably begin posting away again because I don’t have the same “blogger’s quilt” I expressed in my last post.

Here are some photos I took at my summer home on Martha’s Vineyard at the end of August.

Alpaca’s from Island Alpaca who were hanging out at the Farmer’s Market.

Some squash and a “squash blossom” which will always remind me of my mother and her small obsession with them throughout my first trip to Italy at 16.

Garlic is just too beautiful in a basket.

These will always be “vineyard flowers” to me.

This is how I would have spent my time with my sister and cousins while my parents hit up the West Tisbury Farmer’s Market 15 years ago.

After the market, we headed to the small flea market. I was less than impressed this year and saddened that the location was moved the the local high school’s parking lot. In any case, I saw some beautiful bottles that deserved a photo or two.

The next stop was Chilmark Pottery.

Looking at the food photographs I took over the few days I was there this summer, I can say that they are less than stellar. I ate a fair share of fresh fruits with oats for breakfast and even tried my first pluot. (YUM!)

Now I see why they are all also called “dinasour eggs.”

The backpack that appears to be glowing was the last purchase I made before returning to Boston for my last semester of college. I have gone 4 years without one but I felt it was needed for the cross country season. I was right and use it almost everyday. Although I have always been a purse or bag girl, I guess the adventurer side of me has shown through this semester.

Fall is full force in Boston right now and I love every day of it. Yesterday, I was walking through the Boston Common, which I call the Central Park of Boston, when I heard two girls complaining about how cold they were. I couldn’t fathom it. I love it. I can’t imagine anything more fresh than walking outside in the perfectly crisp air. My apple picking plans had to be put on the back burner on Sunday after an exhausting cross country race on Saturday but I plan on seeking one out this coming weekend. I hope this scattered post will bring back some readers and maybe I can even get some new ones. My commenting will resume as well. Off to go running, have a wonderful Tuesday.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina said, on October 7, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    LOVELY photos!!!

  2. Shelby said, on October 7, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    The pictures are gorgeous! I can’t wait to see more posts from you =)

  3. Emma said, on October 7, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    hey you, no pressure on the posting busy gal…love the pics. good luck on the cross country…you never did tell me how the meet went?

  4. Adam said, on October 7, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I wouldn’t sweat the small stuff. The second you make this a chore and not fun, then it’s game over, at least that’s my double cents.

    Your pic taking has really come a long way. The ones here are amazing. These are like photo major student quality. Nice job.

    Oh and the llamas cracked me up. “Tina, eat your food!” hahha… hope you got that 🙂

  5. VeggieGirl said, on October 8, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Claire!!! Glad to see you posting again!!

    I ADORE the Martha’s Vineyard photographs – stunning!!

    I MISS PLUOTS!!! Wish they were in season 😦

  6. Erin said, on October 8, 2008 at 2:16 am

    Welcome back! We’ve missed you!
    You are beyond lucky to be spending the Fall in Boston–I can only imagine the gorgeous weather. It’s still “summer” here in FL. 😦

    You’ll definitely need to share some pictures of the glorious leaves changing colors!

  7. runroamrecycle said, on October 8, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Good lord this post made me so happy – you don’t even know. Yes! Come! Stay!!

    Your blog is one of my favorites – I love reading about the places you go in Boston because it’s either a “hey! I’ve been there too!” or “No way.. I should go there!” kinda thing. I’m still waitin on that Purple Cactus place.. but ever since you posted about, I’ve wanted to go!

    And last thing – apple picking. WHERE?! And how the HECK are you getting there? I’m thinking being a college kid in B town you don’t have a car.. and I’ve been trying to figure out for the life of me how to get to an apple orchard!

    Good to see you back. You were missed (at least by me!)

  8. HangryPants said, on October 8, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Don’t stress about missing some posts!

    I saw alpaca’s at a Farmer’s Market recently and fell in love! http://www.hangrypants.com/2008/08/she-says-pasta-e-fagioli/

  9. Danielle said, on October 8, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Your pictures are absolutely beautiful! Sounds like you had a very enjoyable summer… and currently a pleasant fall. I’m jealous, enjoy 🙂

  10. Christie said, on October 8, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Your picks are beautiful and looks like such a good time.. ithink it is great you guys go each year… what are you studying in school?

  11. clairedille said, on October 9, 2008 at 5:00 am

    I am so happy that everyone loved the photos! I found some more MV one’s I am posting now…

    Adam-love napoleon…even better…my mom said that line all the time after seeing the movie! and just like he did…gosh!

    runroamrecycle (erika right? or c?)-yes, back to posting! I do have a car…my first time having one here and the family I babysit for lets me keep it in a garage in the south end…so nice! I never use it but apple picking will be worth it I am sure…I am not sure where yet but it could be a bit of a journey.

    christie-writing, literature, and publishing is my major…kind of broad. I was in journalism but switched to focus on some more creative writing rather than hard news. The program I am in features great classes such as “modern british novel” and “magazine layout and design.”

    Emma-old injuries coming back to haunt me…you know my baby shins…8 years!


Leave a Reply

