A Fresh Dille

autumn produce with some running inspiration…

Posted in FOOD, RUNNING by clairedille on October 14, 2008

Every time I take my usual stroll to the farmer’s market I come up with an exciting plan of bringing home elaborate produce I have not yet tried. Of course I have to still remember that I am a college student with not only a budget, but also without any real space for more food in my miniscule refrigerator. After an attack of fruit flies, I had to force all my apples and bananas into the fridge as well. Often I joke about how it is a maze to find things in this fridge, but that is actually true. This current apartment was thought to be temporary stay of 2-3 weeks and I am now realizing that I may have to invest in an additional fridge because this college dorm-like mini fridge is a huge damper on my usual investment in fresh fruits and veggies.

This week’s trip to the farmer’s market was rather uneventful in terms of purchases but I caught sight of some fall beauties…

I am ashamed to admit that I have never had this variety of kale. Usually sticking with the curly kale, this dinosaur kale is rather enticing…

Another moment of excitement on Friday was when I went to one of my favorite stores, Marathon Sports. Now I will use a little bit of runner’s lingo to tell you about some recent shoe/injury drama. Considering how injury-prone I have been throughout my entire running career, I am often quite hesitant when buying new shoes. The last news I heard when I went to this store was that I had been wearing the wrong type of shoes for my high arched feet for over 4 years. My left foot has a bone that is a tiny bit higher on top than the right and my mother calls it the “cavanaugh bump” (family name).  Although I still get that bump confused with one on many of my family member’s nose also considered a family bump (I don’t think I have that one). In the last few weeks leading up to my Cross Country season I was feeling pain on the top part of my foot that I kept confusing with pain from shoes being tied to tight. After numerous times of undoing the laces throughout one run, I consulted my coach who informed me I had something that sounded like extensor tendonitis. To minimize risk of more injury I took the usual few days off to cross train and went to Marathon Sports where they told me that the Asic 21 series of shoes I had been buying since my sophomore year of high school were causing my foot to roll farther out than it already did naturally. Basically, my high arches cause my feet to supinate or underpronate, especially on my left. I needed shoes to help fix this problem and I switched to Adidas. As a loyal Asics supporter over the last 7-8  years, I was truly sad to stop wearing them.

Ironically I was sore for the first week or so of training in my Adidas but my foot injury as since faded. The calves were getting more stress than they had before because all the weight of my running was going to my shins and feet (bones!) instead of the muscles that should of been absorbing the shock more than the bones. Most people don’t realize that their feet change over the years as well as their form and stride so it is important to continue asking people at specialty running stores to help you find the perfect pair of shoes for you.

The newest shoe drama was when I tried to compete over a week ago in a Cross Country 5K race but had to stop because of increasing pain in my shin. This injury is nothing new to anyone who has run and I have had my fair share of them. I don’t like to admit when I have shin splints because I always thought they were the new runner’s injury but they can be caused by simply overtraining, not only training too much too fast. The new Nike Spikes I was wearing were making my nagging pain considerably worse throughout the race. I was going fast but my feet were yet again rolling outwards and the shins were shocked…tears were coming down my face when I stopped at only 7 minutes at about 1.2 miles. Another return to Marathon Sports and another pair of shoes later, I am trying out these racing flats: Mizuno’s that only weigh 6 oz! If you live near or in Boston, I recommend going to Marathon Sports where they care about how you feel in your running shoes. They took back my racing spikes after I wore them in dirt and mud, although they will probably never be able to sell them again (don’t worry I asked-they recycle the shoes!) and I only had to pay a small difference in price of the two pairs. A student discount doesn’t hurt either…

Lastly, today was the Tufts 10K for women and I was amazed by all the women running from ages 10-90. I stuck around for the awards as saw a lady getting a medal at age 82. It was truly inspirational. The Olympic Marathon champion, Joan Benoit Samuelson, also ran and spoke as the spokesperson of the race. These women are true athletes and I can only wish to continue running as long as they have.

I have practice at 7am so I will try out the new racing flats with some speedwork and report back about how they feel. Good night everyone. I hope you all had a fabulous Columbus day!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on October 14, 2008 at 12:43 am

    That’s dinosaur kale!! Try it, for sure – hope you like it! 🙂

    Good luck with practice in the A.M.!!

  2. Shelby said, on October 14, 2008 at 1:01 am

    I’ve never had dinosaur kale either!! =( But I hope to try it soon as I am obsessed with regular kale as it is. I love fresh farmers market produce.

  3. Adam said, on October 14, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I’m glad you are starting to get your sneaker and feet problem undercontrol. That’s kinda neat that you underpronate, which I find is pretty rare. Most people, like myself, overpronate.

    Good for you though for getting it fixed. You might be surprised how many people have back pain, and it all starts with their feet. Their mouths drop like a Looney Tunes character 🙂

  4. sara said, on October 14, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    The new spikes look great. I always ran in Nike spikes, but they never did great things for my feet either. New running shoes (and food of course) and my two favorite things to buy. I think they’re sort of related. More of the former means more of the latter! 🙂

  5. runroamrecycle said, on October 15, 2008 at 2:01 am

    a) I ❤ Marathon Sports.

    b) I was standing RIGHT BY YOU at Tufts! I actually could have been in that picture of Joan (but I’m not).. I was standing almost directly across from where you took that.

    I seriously was biting back tears watching the finish. Partly because those top finishers were so inspiring (god.. let me run a 35:00 someday!).. but mostly because there is nothing worse than standing on the sidelines of a race you’re supposed to be running. I was registered and everything. 😦 I’m praying I’ll be back in action by thanksgiving, and I can do a turkey trot or something, but I obviously won’t be back to racing by then.

    I AM all registered for Boston though! No doubt I’ll be back by then! 😀

  6. erica said, on October 15, 2008 at 2:12 am

    I’m absolutely in love with farmer’s markets.. I went to the one in union square the other day, and had taken the car there, I would’ve come home with tons of stuff!

    I actually bought dinosaur kale the other day! Can’t wait to try it. 😉

  7. brooke said, on October 16, 2008 at 5:46 am

    claire bear, i am so, so happy to hear from you! thank you for all of your kind words! and i know you will love the pumpkin butter – its amazing!

    your farmers market pictures are so enjoyable! i love seeing different markets and the variety, the stands and layout, etc. did you end up getting anything fun? i try to get to the farmers market every sunday to stock up on fresh proudce and of course enjoy the early morning experience. but lately it has been so exciting seeing the autumn produce come in. i think the quality is more superior than in the summer because everything seems to be at its peak. and the prices! red and golden beets are my favorite – i can’t believe they only charge $1 for a large bunch! anyways, it looks like you had a very fun, eventful weekend!

    p.s do you go to Tuft’s? i know a few friends from high school that go there.

  8. clairedille said, on October 16, 2008 at 6:12 am

    Brooke, I go to Emerson College right in the heart of Boston. I have loved it and I am almost done…yikes! Emerson is pretty cool because it is pretty artsy and small. We have tons of film students, writers, actors, etc. (and famous actors children haha)

    I did buy some leeks, beets, a butternut squash, two tiny acorn squash, and these awesome 7 grain rolls from this place called iggy’s. I couldn’t get kale and all the big leafy greens I wanted though…no fun. I just couldn’t fit them in my tiny fridge.

    P.S. I am finally apple picking on Sunday!

    erika, that is too funny about being so close the other day at the tufts 10k…I was also so sad to not be running!! I can’t believe you are running boston, you youngin’ haha

    adam, I am not too sure I am quite getting the foot problem under control yet…I couldn’t help but run 3 miles today after 45 minutes of boring elliptical…and now I am in bed and feeling it. oops!

    sara, I still haven’t tried the new mizunos but had to get rid of the nikes…I used to run in nike spikes in high school but the new ones I got just weren’t up to par.

    erica, liz, and shelby-can’t wait to try dinosaur kale…maybe I can fit some in my fridge when I go to the market on Friday!

    Oh and erica, union sq. is the ultimate farmer’s market. When I interned for Harper’s Bazaar…they brought some of the produce to the Hearst Tower where I worked to sell but it was never as good as actually going to that amazing market yourself.


Leave a Reply

