A Fresh Dille

if you’re causing no harm, then you’re alright with me

Posted in FOOD by clairedille on April 21, 2010

I awoke this morning to a big empty house with my puppies nose perched right up on the edge of the bed and the sun gleaming in the windows. This week I am at my parents house, watching our dog, while they are off in Barcelona (jealous!). It is always such fun to cook in their kitchen where they have an old AGA, that came with the home when purchased, and all the spices I could ever ask for.

Opening the fridge, I saw a bowl and another container full of strawberries. Of course I was ever-so excited to see that fresh berries could top my usual morning oats and grabbed them with extra enthusiasm. After glancing over the container, my heart sank when I couldn’t find a USDA certified organic sign in sight. These also were definitely not farmers market fresh and I have been pretty consistent in buying frozen organic wild blueberries in the winter months. Ideally, I prefer to pick my own during their season and freeze them. I struggled with whether or not I wanted to eat them because I am quite aware that they are on the dirty dozen list of fruits and vegetables with the most pesticides. I have often thought about not being too rigid on myself when out or at others homes when it comes down to organic eating. It is very unlikely that most restaurants we go to are organic, even vegetarian ones, unless clearly stated. When working, I have to eat catered meals or craft services on set, which usually entails finding the most colorful fruits and veggies I can find and maybe a whole grain or nuts if I am lucky. Last year I read up on Orthorexia, and wanted to steer clear of that world. It can be a tricky one, the obsession with clean and pure food. We all want it, but if it is not easily obtainable, why not let go a little and work with what we’ve got. After all, being healthy is about nourishing ourselves.

Thinking about this, I concluded that when buying things for myself, I will continue to buy most things organic. When it comes to berries, I won’t buy conventional ones but will buy the frozen organic ones if I really crave them and the fresh ones aren’t available. I started singing some wise words from Mr. Ben Harper when stirring my oats on the stovetop…

“My choice is what I choose to do and if I’m causing no harm, it shouldn’t bother you.
Your choice is who you choose to be and if your causin’ no harm, then you’re alright with me”

I cleaned these berries to the best of my ability using my homemade veggie wash. After this tasty breakfast of steel cut oats cooked with coconut milk and chia seeds, I chose to freeze the rest of the berries for my parents. After all, my mother has gotten into the habit of drinking a green smoothie every morning now with spinach, almond milk, and lots of other healthy supplements (chlorella, bee pollen, burdock root) from the encouragement of a friend. She can feast on them when returning.

After a hot yoga session and my first day of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, that has received such great reviews in the blogosphere, I sat down to a tasty lunch of baked beans over a sweet potato à la Caitlin over a bed of fluffy kale.

Spy Bessie’s lovely gams?

Somet other news:

My boyfriend and I were quite surprised to find out that his loft building didn’t recycle when he first moved in. After both living in cities and towns with an easy recycling program, we decided to do some research ourselves. It was exciting to see so many others recycling everything from bottles and cans to electronics at a place we found around the corner.

Speaking of electronic recycling, Alicia Silverstone wrote a great post about where to find places in your area to bring them.

Aren’t you jealous of San Francisco’s recycling and composting program? Does your city recycle everything? Maybe I should buy my own composting pail like Kath.

P.S. Can you take me here this weekend (more photos)?

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. caitlin said, on April 22, 2010 at 12:57 am

    ooo im glad you liked the sweet potato and bean combo!

  2. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on April 23, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    what brand of baked beans do you like? I think I’ve had baked beans like 4 times in my life; are there “healthy” versions?

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on April 24, 2010 at 2:52 am

    great eats!
    saw your comment on katie lil veg’s that you need to make all of my and M Pea’s recipes. you’re too sweet 🙂

    baked beans. so good. i never make them though. hubs not a fan and they make an army load of beans, ya know! guess i need to try those eden canned ones.

    • clairedille said, on April 24, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      your recipes look so good, I need some more raw goodness in my life!

  4. west-bound. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 21, 2010 at 12:01 am

    […] I’ve mentioned before, but I love cooking at my parents because they have an amazing old AGA […]


Leave a comment