A Fresh Dille

cherries and chocolate.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on April 28, 2010

Growing up, I always had a fondness for the jarred maraschino cherries that my father would bring out when making cocktails. Around holiday time I would have the same syrupy cherries, but covered with chocolate. My grandmother would receive boxes of dark chocolate covered cherries every Christmas and she knew she could count on me to help her devour them. You see, I am not sure that I would care for them much now. As my taste buds have evolved over the years, I think that the sweetness would be a bit overwhelming (and well, fake). I do know one thing for sure, I still love cherries and chocolate.

Last night I prepared some overnight oats with almond milk, chia seeds, and chocolate amazing grass superfood (Teri wrote a great review here) based off of this recipe created by Angela. I chose to fill my bowl with a deconstructed version of a banana split. In the morning, I sliced the banana in half but when I saw it starting to break in half, I went with it and rimmed my bowl with the banana and filled the middle with the oat mixture. Channeling a banana split sundae with a cherry on top, I chopped up some frozen organic cherries and tossed them in a bowl with a small spoonful of Cacao Bliss. After melting the cherries and cacao bliss, I poured them over my bowl and made my way through the satisfying breakfast.

Although they might not look the most appetizing, the oats were so filling that it took me a bit longer to finish my breakfast this morning. With the warm weather approaching (hopefully!), I know that the warmer oats won’t be practical in the next few months and I am happy to find that I am just as satisfied with these.

Moving along…I have to share a cookie I made in the last few days that are out of this world, delicious. Isa‘s recipe for the Chewy Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies is a definite crowd pleaser. They have the perfect texture of cookies that I love most, not fluffy but chewy and even a tad crisp after sitting a few hours. The addition of dried cherries would also make this recipe even more tasty (if possible) but unfortunately I was out of my usual stash of Michigan dried cherries.

After snapping these photos in the sunlight, I nibbled on one and the melty chips and rich cocoa flavor made me think that I might not be able to find another cookie recipe I like more.

Are you a chocolate and cherry fan? I would love to hear about some more recipes that you enjoy with these flavors.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. theharrodsgirl said, on April 28, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Those cookies look amazing! I’m definitely going to have to try them out!

  2. mina said, on April 28, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    just found your blog – you’re so healthy… really inspiring! i’ve bookmarked a few of your recipes.

    • clairedille said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      thanks! I try to be healthy…most of the time!

  3. Elina said, on April 28, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Chocolate + cherries… + nuts are my favorite things in the world. My go-to dessert is almond/chocolate/cherry clusters by Ellie Krieger. Three ingredients, amazing taste!! 🙂

    • clairedille said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      mmm…sound delicious!

  4. Katie said, on April 28, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    I love using cherries in my oats, especially with chocolate!

    I’m also due for some cookie baking…

  5. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I love chocolate and cherries together, but I’ve never liked just plain maraschino cherries.I always called them “fake cherries” as a child, even though my mom tried to explain to me that they were real cherries. 🙂

    Your deconstructed banana split oats look awesome. I never would have though to put cherries in oatmeal!

    • clairedille said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:06 pm

      thanks! I am such a fan in cherry in oats…dried/fresh/frozen…but definitely not maraschino, ick!

  6. Lele said, on April 28, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I vividly remember that at my friend’s bat mitzvah her family got a bartender and all the kids were interested in was getting as many Shirley Temples as possible, with as many maraschino cherries as possible. One girl drank straight up maraschino cherry syrup… and then threw up, hahaha.

  7. Katherine: What About Summer? said, on April 28, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I just got some great frozen cherries for $1 a bag! I was so excited. I grew up never trying maraschino cherries but insisting I hated them. I was always skeptical of their color//coming out of a jar. I love thinking of all the odd-ball things growing up entails!
    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

  8. eatgoodstuff said, on April 29, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Everything on this post is making my mouth water…
    Mmmmm

  9. […] Yesterday morning, I remembered that I wanted to incorporate more seeds into my meals, breakfast particularly. I started off with a base of gluten free mighty tasty cereal cooked in almond milk, banana slices, and cinnamon. As you can see, they were finished off with more banana, strawberries, and pepitas (or pumpkin seeds) that were mixed with a few walnut pieces. Hiding beneath the seeds is a big scoopful of Naturally Nutty vanilla almond butter. I tend to favor the vanilla almond butter over the cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter, and I am pretty sure it comes down to the fact that I am a true almond butter lover. Both are so flavorful and the perfect accompaniment to oats. There are still many Naturally Nutty flavors I hope to try soon. Chocolate Cherry Peanut Butter, yes please! […]

  10. […] have tried Angela’s Vegan Overnight Oats before in Banana Split form, but I wanted to try them again after seeing them on Ashley’s blog with coconut milk kefir. […]

  11. […] Banana Split VOO […]

  12. Gesundheit said, on May 7, 2013 at 9:49 am

    Excellent blog you have got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  13. Pam said, on May 9, 2013 at 1:40 am

    Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant thought, article is good, thats why i have read it entirely

  14. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  15. Milan said, on May 14, 2013 at 1:41 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.

    nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following.

    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again
    as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.


Leave a Reply

