A Fresh Dille

gluten free number three

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 4, 2010

Lunch rolled around before I knew it and a visit to Whole Foods to pick up some Gluten Free baking ingredients was the perfect excuse to grab some lunch. I had stowed two small apples in my purse and was craving these delicious spring rolls. A few weeks ago, I tried these Whole Foods rolls for the first time and have been searching for rice roll wrappers ever since. I am not sure how they make these if they don’t sell the rice wrappers but after asking an employee, it was clear they did not have them in the store. I just might have to find a specialty Asian grocery store soon.

The basil I had brought from V’s was used to prepare vegan pesto for dinner. I used Ashley’s recipe as a guide, but used the traditional basil and pine nut combination.

I had never made a pesto this bright green before and I think that the nutritional yeast Ashley included in her version made it so beautiful.

Unfortunately, the gluten free noodles I had purchased did not work out as planned. I was surprised to find they had completely broken apart while cooking within a few minutes. This was a fail and I had to switch them for buckwheat soba noodles last minute.


A tablespoon of pesto was whipped with silken tofu before tossed with the warm noodles. I also sautéed kale and mushrooms with oil and balsamic vinegar to eat with the pesto noodles. In the fridge, I found a few sun dried tomatoes that I chopped up and added to the top for some sweetness and lycopene goodness.

‘Twas delicious…

To finish off my third day Gluten Free, I ate half of my favorite Endangered Species dark chocolate bar.

Other things:

-I don’t like the way my photos look at night without natural lighting…do you care about your photos not turning out as planned? Do you think that I should post these unflattering shots?

-Could you go a week without dark chocolate? I don’t think I could go more than one day…expect a chocolate post like this one soon.

Goodnight!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ashley said, on May 4, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Ooooh, I’m so glad you liked the pesto!! And you used soba noodles…luuuurve soba noodles!!

  2. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete said, on May 5, 2010 at 6:10 am

    I completely forgot that we can have buckwheat. I love soba noodles, and now I look forward to getting some buckwheat ones when I get back to the states. Now, to try to find the nutritional yeast!

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 5, 2010 at 7:59 am

    I’m interested to see what people say about the light…I have the same problem! My dorm barely gets any light, and my pics definitely suffer 😦

    I’ve gone 40 days without dark chocolate during Lent, but it does not make me a happy camper!! It’s my favorite food 🙂

    Hope you have a great hump day!!

  4. hbobier said, on May 5, 2010 at 9:29 am

    I’m a new blogger and all my pictures are taken with my Blackberry. Not exactly high quality. I still post and hope people will forgive my lack of photography skills.

    As for the chocolate, I’ll admit it: I don’t exactly love chocolate. I just never buy it. If someone is handing out chocolate, sure, I’ll take it. But as for actually craving it and going to the store to buy it? Not so much.

  5. Lindsay said, on May 5, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Rice roll wrappers are amazing! I do get a little frustrated if pics don’t turn out like they should, but I think you should still post them.

  6. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 5, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    that pasta is divine!! rice rolls are awesome.. it’ll be nice if they can sell them seperately!!

    yea natural lighting is the only thing that makes me happy with my photos.. my camera is the worst at night and completely useless 😦

    have a lovely day girl!

  7. Katie said, on May 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I LOVE making homemade rice wraps! Those look fab. And sorry about the noodle disaster, but at least you had delicious soba as a fallback!

    A week without dark chocolate would be a sad week indeed!

  8. […] gluten free alternatives to pasta didn’t work out as much as hoped. I emailed the company that put my hopes down, maybe they can change my mind. Any […]


Leave a Reply

