A Fresh Dille

produce & peanut butter.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on June 21, 2010

The small local Farmer’s Market I went to today near my parents house has to be one of my favorites because of one farmer. After picking up my bounty of organic vegetables from him, I wished I had snapped a photo of him. He is everything you would imagine a farmer to look like. He is overly tan with a scruffy beard, and wears cutoff shirts when it is stifling and flannel on the chilly mornings. His stand is the last on my route around the market, and today I only had a few peppers before making my way to his station. Upon reaching his veggies, I noticed he was nowhere to be found. After a quick glance around the market, I saw him running toward me with a big smile on his face. This guy knows how much I love my greens. There were garlic scapes, romaine, kale, collards, chard, radishes, and snap peas. Since V and I are working a lot and moving towards the end of this week, I made sure to not go overboard.

My fondness of peas is because of my father’s influence, without a doubt. I have delightful memories of sitting next to him shelling english peas from their fibrous pods at our summer home. Snap peas, the less fibrous variety, are a vegetable I prefer to eat raw. They do make a great addition to a simple stir fry, but eating them fresh is especially refreshing.

Oh, radishes… what an awfully beautiful vegetable with the perfect crunch for summer salads.

Kale is a vegetable that I just can’t say no to. I adore it almost always. In fact, my mother once asked me which foods I could eat daily and kale was one. Chocolate was another, of course. The small bell peppers were too adorable to pass up.

These warm days are upping my raw veggie consumption and everyone around me is always amazed when they see me make massive salads only to claim them as my own.

This showcased the farmer’s market romaine, radishes, and snap peas. Cherry tomatoes and cucumber were also thrown in there before it was tossed with Goddess Dressing. Leftover Indian from our early Father’s Day dinner was served on the side for lunch. Last night, I ordered Chana Saag (chickpeas and spinach) instead of my usual, Channa Masala. Although it was tasty, it didn’t compare to my favorite. Dal was also ordered and I used a brown rice tortilla to scoop up the two Indian dishes and eat with my hands.

Although not incredibly photogenic, the Indian dishes were better than the night before. The spices seem to become more pronounced after a night left in the fridge.

Since my family proclaimed there would be “no more cookies” allowed in their house, I was weary of baking but the craving was there. Let’s just say, I went for it. A new recipe was tried for Peanut Butter Cookies and everyone seemed to forget the ban they had made on these little delicious treats. Heidi Swanson’s blog, 101 Cookbooks, was one of the first I stumbled upon when entering the online foodie world. I have yet to buy her beautiful book, but have tried many of her recipes with much success and rave reviews all around.

Before baking, I made sure to use a large fork to create the criss-cross that makes a typical peanut butter cookie appear different from all other cookies. The recipe was one of the simplest cookie recipes I’ve found, containing spelt flour, maple syrup, baking soda, peanut butter, olive oil, vanilla, and salt.

For an afternoon snack, we ate them with the delectable So Delicious Coconut Milk.

Watching the World Cup with my father, combined with baking, didn’t leave much time for dinner. The recent sale on Rising Moon pastas at Whole Foods made for an easy dinner. Many of the Ravioli’s are vegan, and my weird desire for warming winter squash meant that the Butternut Squash would be the ravioli of choice. Kale and orange bell pepper were cooked with some basil, olive oil, tomato sauce, and garlic and then poured onto the pasta.

‘Twas a scrumptious meal.

Thanks so much for the kind words about the photos I included in my last post of my father. It is funny that a few mentioned he looked like Steven Spielburg since he is a director for commercials, not film. He is such a creative individual and aspire to be like him everyday. His stubbornness and drive are two things that have rubbed off on me tremendously throughout my life. I only hope to be as happy as he has been with his choice in line of work. He always told us growing up that he just wants us to be happy in all aspects of our lives, and I am unwilling to stay in any situation where I don’t feel content. He makes sure to travel abroad each year, even with his busy schedule, because he knows it is one thing that has made him most happy throughout his life. I can only dream that will be possible in my future because I miss it dearly.

Other things:

-A delicious looking Radish Salad recipe on Tartelette.

-This Chilled Soba with Tofu and Sugar Snap Peas recipe sounds absolutely delicious.

-These two raw recipes using bell peppers are wonderful: Gena’s “Cheese” Sauce and Averie’s Raw Vegan Kale Chips (you can bake them too).

-Make your own Chana Saag from Vegan Dad’s blog or some delicious Channa Masala.

32 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. healthyexposures said, on June 21, 2010 at 6:31 am

    looks like you DID make out like a bandit at the market! that salad that you made with your fresh greens looks just perfect. and sounds like a great cookie recipe! will have to do some investigation there 🙂
    glad you had a great father’s day with your dad – hope your week gets off to a great start today!

  2. Evan Thomas said, on June 21, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I love kale, too. And I’m just figuring out all the ways to eat it! Raw, steamed, sauteed, it’s always good. I just never tried baking it.

  3. Amanda @ . seek . said, on June 21, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Farmer’s markets and cookies! Two of my favorite things 🙂 Those are definitely some great farmer’s market finds… and that’s so sweet about your favorite farmer 🙂 I have a few that I’m really close with as well, and they often save me some of the best produce.

    “I am unwilling to stay in any situation where I don’t feel content” — I think that’s a really great mentality to adopt. So many people settle for a life that they’re not fully satisfied with, and over time they even stop realizing how unhappy they are. I’m glad that you’re pursuing all of your dreams and passions… and I’m hoping that you do find that contentment and happiness 🙂

  4. Jessie said, on June 21, 2010 at 10:20 am

    That salad looks so perfect! I love radishes and snap peas.
    I have to check my local WF to see if Rising Moon ravioli is on sale. I love their kalamata olive flavor. 🙂

  5. Lele said, on June 21, 2010 at 10:22 am

    There’s something so soothing about shelling peas with someone you love 😀

  6. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife said, on June 21, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Your good from the market are def top notch! Also Rising Moon rav’s = BOMB!! I love the butternut squash tossed in a little olive oil with some vegan mozzarella grated on top. YUMMY!!

  7. peacebeme said, on June 21, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Beautiful veggie pics! My dad has a huge vegetable garden and I can’t wait until they all come in. The only thing he really has so far is spinach, which is amazing. I have been eating a spinach salad every day!

  8. Mandiee said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    What farmers market do you go to? I go down to the Eastern Market and absolutely love it! It’s totally worth the drive. However, not everything is organic, though I always find amazing local finds. Do you go to the Royal Oak one? As for yoga studios, I highly recommend Yoga Shelter. They have studios in Royal Oak, Birmingham, West Bloomfield, and Grosse Pointe. I practically live at the Yoga Shelter; I am there 7 days a week. Although there are a lot of yoga places in the Bham area, Yoga Shelter is unlike others I’ve tried because of the community feel. Everyone is so kind and we all get along.

    Where do you go for good Indian food? I love Indian food but have yet to find a really good place I like (either they are over/underseasoned or waay too oily). Now that we know we live in the same area, it will be great to be able to exchange favorite places. Speaking of favorites, those peanut butter cookies look fab! I love the little criss-crosses on top–definitely necessary for that traditional feel! I love Rising Moon Organics’ vegan ravioli, too. I think the ones I tried were the garlic and roasted veggie. Although they were good, they were disappointedly not filling. Oh well, they were still delicious.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  9. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    i love how so many bloggers have been hitting their kitchens to get some much needed baking done over the weekend. obviously father’s day totally inspires baking creations 😛

    mmm i just bought some yummy kale that looks just like that. i havent been able to find the really krinkly kale lately, but this type is much larger 🙂

  10. Alex @ IEatAsphalt said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    I love those pictures of your produce. I work on a CSA that is run by all women and love to take pictures of what we dig out of the ground. I could probably eat Swiss Chard every day without even thinking about it. I’ve been living off of it lately since it’s in season!

  11. wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I can’t think of a better way to spend a morning than at a Farmer’s Market. Your pics are gorgeous, as usual! You are an inspiration with that camera!

  12. Megan said, on June 21, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Produce and peanut butter are two of my very favorites! I can’t get over how beautiful your photos are. A pb cookie + milk sounds sooo good right now!!

  13. Natalie said, on June 21, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    those veggies loook soo good! i have a new love for snap peas becuase i have been working on a farm and we harvested so many snap peas, and i ate them off the vine and they were sooo sweet and delicious! those cookies look reallly yummy too =)

  14. lisasfoods said, on June 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    What wonderful market finds! I love kale also, although I find so many people don’t appreciate it. It’s really good in soups too, especially in the wintertime.

    I love snap peas too, but for some reason they make me lose my voice; I must be allergic to them slightly. I eat them cooked in soups and stir fry, which while not as good as eating them raw, they’re good anyway.

  15. Katharina said, on June 21, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Oh my goodness I always love your pictures! They look SOOO delicious, and I know that they taste incredible as well 😀 That salad with the goddess dressing.. oh my goodness. I am so glad that there are also others that love veggies as much as I do lol. Also.. INDIAN FOOD!! That is my all-time favorite cuisine. Ask me what my favorite is and I will tell you Indian hands down, no questions asked. Hope your week is starting off well!!

    XOXO

    p.s. I really enjoyed your photos from your Father’s Day post!! The post brought a smile to my face 🙂

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  16. lalootarr said, on June 21, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    My daddy is the same way…he loves me and my sister SO much and always wants to make us happy!

    About farmer’s markets, I HAVE NEVER BEEN! There’s one by me all summer, and I don’t know why I’ve never been. I can figure that you’d probably recommend it, non?
    I love love LOVE produce!

    ~Alexandra

  17. happyhealthyfoodie said, on June 21, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Mmm that salad looks great! I made PB cookies today too! Love your blog! 🙂

  18. Dee said, on June 22, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Hi Claire! I found your blog through Jessica/HealthyExposures… I just wanted to comment on your fabulous photos and commentary.

    I was shocked to hear you didn’t have a DSLR camera yet. Your photos are spot on and you certainly have the eye! I can’t wait to see what you come up with in the future! 🙂

  19. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on June 22, 2010 at 12:43 am

    thanks for the shout on my kale chips 🙂

    Ok the sugar snap peas, 1st pic. I want those!! they look perfect! as does that salad you made. Simple perfection!

    Making sure not to go over board. I had to restrain myself sooo much yesterday. I hate to pass up produce but I also hate to waste. So, I was very careful not to overbuy but it’s hard!

    Pb Cookies. I have seen recipes like that before. The flour factor just doesnt work for me. GF flour is gritty and spelt still has gluten. Sigh. They look beyond perfect..practically like a blog of peanut butter oil in cookie format. Which is basically heaven on earth for me!

  20. brandi said, on June 22, 2010 at 10:13 am

    great picks at the market! I Love mutlicolor radishes like that.

  21. Vicky said, on June 22, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Butternut squash is my absolute favorite! It looks so delicious!! – Vicky(vdubb.wordpress.com)

  22. maggie said, on June 22, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Love the cookies!!

    Maggie

    Mybreakfastblog.com

  23. Kelly said, on June 22, 2010 at 11:47 am

    What a great day at the Farmer’s Market!

  24. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) said, on June 22, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Oh farmer’s market how I love thee! I know how you feel about salads…they are all mine! I amaze people with the amount of lettuce I can put down in a sitting! I also prefer my snap peas raw…YUM! Everything looks delicious!

  25. Katie said, on June 22, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Everything looks so beautiful, fresh and delicious! It’s been so long since I’ve been to the Farmer’s Market 😦

    101 Cookbooks is one of my favorites! Everything I’ve made has been a winner… Ari and I made one of her recipes last night!

  26. actorsdiet said, on June 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    i love those fork criss-crosses. when/if i make cookies i’ll be doing that!

  27. brittany said, on June 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    those radishes look great! I love freshly picked vegs and fruits : )
    (those cookies remind me of growing up… my mom always did the fork design on top)

  28. BitterSweet said, on June 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Beautiful produce! Makes me want to run out to the farmers market right now, too. It’s a shame it isn’t open every day.

  29. Anna said, on June 23, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Great farmer’s market bounty!! And I LOVE Heidi Swanson…I want her to move in with me and teach me everything she knows. 🙂

  30. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete said, on June 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

    That pasta looks amazing!! I wish it was gluten free! I plan on searching whole foods for some gluten free ravioli once I get to the states!

  31. […] Lunches have been of the salad variety on the 90 degree days. This one featured some overly salted Whole Foods Falafel and many veggies from my farmer’s market bounty. […]

  32. west-bound. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 21, 2010 at 12:02 am

    […] The other component I wanted to use was the lacinato (or  dinasour) kale my father picked up at the farmer’s market on Sunday from my favorite organic farmer. […]


Leave a Reply

