A Fresh Dille

switching the route

Posted in Uncategorized by clairedille on October 22, 2010

It sounds like sandwiches, wraps, bars, fruit (dried and fresh), and nuts are the road trip foods of choice. I will be getting to all of that this weekend since our departure date is Monday. Instead of taking the route we had planned, and already visited AAA for maps for, my mother and I have opted to take the southern route. We both haven’t traveled much in the southwest, and plan on stopping in Tulsa, OK, Albuquerque, NM, and Flagstaff, AZ. The most disappointing part about the switch, is that I won’t be stopping in Denver for a day to see a best friend. We had heard that snow was going to be hitting the Rockies and my mother wasn’t too excited with that, considering I was going to be driving alone from Denver to LA. Fortunately for me, she has now decided to go the whole way and we may drive some half days so that we have more time to explore some southwest cities we haven’t visited before.

My mother is a fellow bread enthusiast, and loves the seedy whole grain variety as much as I do. This morning I toasted some Whole Foods Seeduction bread and covered it with crunchy peanut butter and blueberry preserves. It has been too long since I’ve had an open faced pb & j.

Since my father left to film in New Orleans, I’ve been keeping my mom company. I made a simple gnocchi dish with a mix of fresh pumpkin puree, tomato sauce, spinach, squash, rosemary, and sage. It probably skimped in protein, but it was still satisfying. We used whole wheat gnocchi and couldn’t tell the difference in taste or texture. They were just like the gnocchi we had in Tuscany.

The parents keep their home pretty chilly and because I’ve been really trying to fit in cross-training, I’ve hopped on their new elliptical a few times these last few days to warm up. What a good excuse to get a workout in, right? Teri also reminded me that foam rolling would really help alleviate the IT band pain I’ve been having. After searching in my old bedroom closet,  I found the one that my college cross-country coach had given me. It has already has helped  a lot.

I really want to like the garden herb sunshine burgers, but something just doesn’t sit right. I prefer the other Sunshine burger flavors, especially the Southwest (how fitting considering we are going there…). We are really trying to empty out our fridges, and the only veggies I could find were organic baby romaine, farmer’s market tomatoes, and avocado, that I tossed with a balsamic dijon vinaigrette. Honestly, I couldn’t make it through the veggie burger and ate the remaining dumpling squash half and baked beans for today’s lunch.

Newman’s Own Organics sent me a huge box full of products to review for the blog. I dove right into the Fig Newmans first. I forgot how much I enjoy these fig filled treats. They are the perfect pre workout treat too! I can’t wait to try the rest of the vegan choices. The timing is perfect for our road trip.

Now I’m off to go dispose of our plants. This really breaks my heart, and clearly shows how I am meant to be a vegetarian. I have a hard time killing plants! I just don’t think it is practical to travel across the country with a tiny 1990 bmw filled with herbs. I guess V and I will just have to get new ones once we settle in.

Some of you were asking where in LA I will be. Well, it is kind of confusing. We will be staying in our friends way up in Topanga Canyon, but only while he is filming in Thailand for two months. After that, it will be up to us to find a place and area (probably closer to the studios…maybe Toluca Lake, North Hollywood) we want to be. I am very excited to stay out of the center in Topanga for a little bit though. Hopefully I can convince friends to come up their to hike with me.

Other things:

-Have you traveled in the southwest? Have you been to any of the cities I mentioned we will be stopping? Any tips? We will only be driving through but will stop for a few nights and if we find a city particularly interesting, we will probably be staying for a half a day. I do worry about dinners in some of these places. I hope they are veg-friendly!

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on October 22, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    So that’s what you meant about having to get rid of your herbs…. 🙂 I have a hard time killing plants too, or just throwing out food in general. Your parents don’t want them?

    I’ve never driven cross country, but it sounds like you and your Mom have a fun trip planned! I’m sure it’ll be nice to have her company the entire way. And it’s great that you’re giving yourself extra time to get there. Hope you come across some neat places and great restaurants!!

    Finally — that gnocchi pasta looks amazing! I’ve been adding pumpkin to just about everything these days, but that is a combination I haven’t thought of. Now you have me craving it. 🙂

  2. Rachael said, on October 22, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Macy’s Bakery. Flagstaff. Best vegan scones ever.
    Short, but to the point 🙂

  3. healthyexposures said, on October 22, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    It sounds like you’ll be having an awesome time traveling with your mom. I’ve always wanted to take a road trip like that – just leisurely making way across the country or something. I hope you have a fun and safe trip! Will you be updating us, or not until you get to LA? I’m hoping I’ll get to live vicariously through you 🙂
    I’ve been itching to try those fig newmans, but they are so expensive! i am sure they’re worth it, but i’m afraid it’d become a habit 😛 how cool they sent you a bunch of goodies!

  4. Natasha said, on October 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    I live in Flag!

    Definitely hit up Macy’s for coffee (also vegan pastry options, and more…), also I bet you would like Morning Glory Cafe as a lunch option.

  5. actorsdiet said, on October 23, 2010 at 2:04 am

    i’ll come hang with you in topanga. i love that little hippie town. 🙂

  6. Holly said, on October 23, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    i have ALWAYS wanted to travel the southwest, so i can’t wait to read all about it. especially if the trip involves more yummy food like this. wf’s seeduction bread is one of my all-time faves 🙂

  7. Lauren said, on October 23, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Yum! That jam looks so good! Reminds me of being little, my mother always made fresh preserves! Oh and I am now craving gnocchi! Mmm!

  8. Mandiee said, on October 23, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    What can I say, everything you make always looks and sounds amazing! I am super excited for you that you’re going to CA, but also a little sad because we totally could have had an AWESOME blogger meet up meal. Speaking of which, when are you leaving? Would you maybe be up for a little yoga sesh at Center For Yoga in Bham?

    Oh, and I don’t blame you at all for ditching the garden herb sunshine burger for squash and beans. Goodness knows I love my squash and beans! I have to thank you for introducing me to sunshine burgers, too. I’m glad I didn’t buy the garden herb first now :P.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  9. Ashley said, on October 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    The pic of that gnocchi made me drool!

  10. cole jones said, on October 28, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Thanks, Claire!

    Your blog has a beautiful flow and excellent photos. It is a pleasure to read.

    We appreciate the kind and candid words about Sunshine Burgers. Our Garden Herb has the fewest ingredients and, to put it plainly, is the most bland. That said, it is by far our most popular flavor, probably because it works well as foundation for so many different applications–burgers, wraps, salads, stir fries, etc. It does get lonely by itself but plays very well with others.

    I welcome your comments and questions.

    Sincerely,

    Cole Jones
    General Manager
    Sunshine Burger

  11. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on October 29, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I’m so glad foam rolling has already helped!

    I’m totally craving gnocci ever since I first saw this post week ago (yes, I’m totally behind on commenting on blogs). I always forget about gnocci!

  12. Ashley said, on November 2, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    I love your photography style. It’s so simple and still. 🙂


Leave a Reply

